Library Loot: surprising contemporary kick

I don’t like contemporary romance novels. There I said it. I have some weird bias, prejudice, or something so that 90% of contemporary romances do not work for me. I’m missing an enzyme.

Chick lit I’m ok with, but I don’t rush out to buy the next Devil Wears Prada or The Nanny Diaries etc.

On a guess, because I don’t keep detailed stats, looking at my past reading list I’d say I read about 75% historically set books, certainly all the historically set ones tend to be nearer the top of my grading scale. BUT for some reason a week or so ago something clicked in my brain and if I read another word about Hyde Park, pandering to a monarch, anything about Napoleon, Almack’s, kid slippers, or being compromised and forced to marry due to scandal I would just scream! I just got to the point I was totally saturated in historical romance, my pores were overflowing with it. I needed a break.

So check out all my contemporary set library loot, I brought an extra bag to work with me since I knew I’d be getting quite a haul from the library on my lunch break!

1. Too Good to be True, by Kristan Higgins: recommended to me by some of my Twitter friends, I don’t love romance novels set in the first person because I like to see both sides falling in love, what they think of each other, and why they have reservations or go for each other, but I just started reading it and am LOVING it so far. Super, super, super “meet cute.” I LOVE a good meet cute. Grace finds a suspicious person outside her neighbor’s and beans him with her field hockey stick, only to discover he is her new neighbor with a name that is later described as almost orgasm inducing: Callaghan O’Shea.

2. The Girl with the Mermaid Hair, by Delia Ephron: this is a pretty deep YA novel about Sukie, a high school girl with a very superficially perfect family that starts cracking apart, and Sukie starts to crack too. I got goosebumps reading The Booksmuggler’s review, so if a review affected me that much I can’t wait to read the book!

3. The Undomestic Goddess, by Sophie Kinsella: I really liked her first two Shopaholic books (you couldn’t pay me to read the ones after that), and adored Can You Keep a Secret but this was one I hadn’t read yet!

4. Welcome to Temptation, by Jennifer Cruise: I read a few of hers before but was underwhelmed, see! Like I said! For some reason contemporary books that everyone else loves fall into a “m’eh” category for me. But I’m giving her another try now that I’m in a contemporary mindset!

5. The Crowing Glory of Calla Lily Ponder, by Rebecca Wells: this was on the new releases shelf, and although I loved Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood when I read it in 8th grade, but I barely remember it and have no idea if it would still work for me. But I love books set in the south and I had positive association with the author, so why not?

6. Deep Dish, by Mary Kay Andrews: again – set in the south, and again – love the author!

7. Sweet Liar, by Jude Deveraux: this is an old standby, one of the first romance novels I ever read, so this was a “just in case” grab at the library…just in case any of my hopeful new books above didn’t work out I would have this oldie but goodie waiting. Written during and set in the early 90′s uptight Samantha goes to close up her recently passed father’s apartment in NYC, but sexy building owner Mike is determined to coax her out of her shell and solve a 1920′s mobster mystery!

Library loot is a weekly meme hosted by Eva and Marg.

17 Responses

  1. I figure it’s like cleansing your palette–you know, so you can start fresh. So, when I’m getting tired of historicals, a good contemporary, or even better, a good romantic suspense usually does the trick.

    I like Higgins. But you have a bunch there I’ve never read.

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Kristin Higgans. A few months ago I literally devoured every one of her titles. I hope you love them too:) Too Good to Be True is fantastic….but I think Next Best Thing was, well….the best:)

  3. Phyl: good point, you need to cleanse your palette to enjoy the next course, otherwise all the flavors get too mixed up and you can’t enjoy them properly!

    Jessica: wow, lots of Higgins fans, and I’d never heard of her before! I will try Next Best Thing, and I’ve also heard good stuff about Just One of the Guys. Unfortunately my library doesn’t have any others of hers…so i just might have to “invest” in some!

  4. The Girl With The Mermaid Hair sounds so intriguing!

  5. what is “meet cute”??

    sweet liar sounds intriguing.. i like a good ’20s mystery thrown in ;-)

  6. bybee: im excited to start it soon!

    oooh Alice! Clearly you did not see The Holiday movie with Jack Black and Kate Winslet. Meet cute is a hollywood term I learned from the movie about how a boy and girl meet, like she trips in front of him and he catches her, or their leashes tangle at the dog park, or they order the same coffee… I love to see how the H/H meet, I much prefer it over a story where they’ve already known each other forever

  7. If you like Sophie Kinsella, you should get her newest one, Twenties Girl.. I just finished it and I really liked it (though I generally stay away from chick lit these days too).

  8. Great loot!!! For a while there, I was thinking I was one of the only die hard romance reader doing the library loot thing. ;)

    I am yet another big fan of Kristan Higgins’ books. I loved Too Good To Be True, but like Jessica … I LOVED The Next Best Thing. Way more than I thought I would when I picked it up. I can’t wait for her next book… I think August?

    Enjoy your loot! :)

  9. I LOVED Undomestic Goddess. Just like you, I enjoyed her previous books, too. I hope you enjoy the book!! She always has great books to read!!

    I love your blog!!

  10. Great loot! Enjoy!

  11. The Girl With the Mermaid Hair sounds like a DELICIOUS candy read ;-)

  12. I seldom do the romance thing either so haven’t read any of these but definitely there are times when one needs a complete change of favourite genre.

    Enjoy your loot!

  13. I don’t read a lot of contemporary romances, either. At all. :P

  14. Hi!
    Great haul of books. I’ve read Deep Dish by Mary Kay Andrews. Really good book. The Undomestic Goddess is on my TBR list. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Sherrie’s Stuff

  15. Good luck trying out something new! :) I haven’t read any of these, but I hope they work for you.

  16. I was lucky enough to find my copies of KH’s works at library sales for a mere 50 cents each, but they are totally worth paying full price for. I hope you find them soon!

  17. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lusty Reader. Lusty Reader said: New Post (not not the big one i referred to the other day, still ruminating) library loot: on a contemporary kick http://tinyurl.com/23wlcbf [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

