February 2012 Reading List

My great reading streak continued into February with 8 B+ or above grades out of my 11 total reads!  Also of note, 10 out of the 11 books have paranormal elements, I have been on such a PNR/Fantasy kick recently and I’m loving it!

Speaking of grading…all of these “letter grades” are just my personal system, so *I* personally can remember if I liked the book or not. Like if I would want to re-read it or recommend it in the future. It’s not a reflection of anything being wrong with a book if I don’t give it the best grade. My grading is not “fair” in that sense, it’s completely a personal reaction based on whether or not I hate love triangles, or I’m so totally over shapeshifters, or despise mind-reading angst-filled adolescents who fall in love with the only person whose mind they can’t read. Now if there is something more subjective, like plot holes, poor editing, etc I will certainly mention it! Otherwise these “grades” are a direct reflection of my personal tastes and liking/not liking the story.

Here is my February 2012 Reading List:

  1. The Sharing Knife: Beguilement (#1), Lois McMaster Bujold A-
  2. The Sharing Knife: Legacy (#2), Lois McMaster Bujold A-
  3. Graceling, Kristin Cashore A-
  4. A Hunger Like No Other, Kresley Cole B+
  5. To Say Nothing of the Dog, Connie Willis B+ Still not sure what a bishop’s bird stump is, but this was a highly entertaining read!
  6. Chime, Franny Billingsley B+
  7. Paper Towns, John Green B
  8. The Sharing Knife: Passage (#3), Lois McMaster Bujold B-
  9. The Sharing Knife: Horizon (#4), Lois McMaster Bujold C+
  10. There Is No Dog, Meg Rosoff…can’t really give this a grade and this ranking is not about being poorly written or anything like that, just personally didn’t like it! Grading books is horrible, this story about a world where each planet has a “God” as a job they apply for to manage the planet just like any other job didn’t suit me. Especially as the “God” in this story, for earth, was an irresponsible, spoiled, selfish, teenager who was just SO good-looking and seduced mortal girls as frequently as he caused natural disasters for entertainment…which is to say – frequently for both! It just wasn’t to my taste.
  11. Fire, Kristin Cashore DNF I was SUPER into Graceling (even though it really reminded me of MWT Queen’s Thief series) but I had to put this one down after 40ish pages due to animal torture, never wanting to read about Leck again, and not really enjoying the protagonist’s voice…I can like flawed characters but Fire didn’t do it for me.
2 Responses

  1. I dnf’d The Sharing Knife. I forget why, I think I just got bored.

  2. Heidenkind: ive seen really mixed reviews about The Sharing Knife series, its definitely not as fast paced/adventuresome as i expected either, but i enjoyed it for what it was. it kinda reminded me of a PNR Mary Balough if that makes sense…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

