Late Library Loot

I’m a day late on this weekly meme, but mainly because I got my library books for the week pretty late – at 8:30pm last night. This is a cause for celebration for me (hence my huge smile in this pic when i got home with my books last night) as my library is pretty much never open when I can go. It closes every night at 5:30 except on Wednesdays when it closes at 9, it’s open on Saturday but closed on Sunday. So any weekday I can’t go since I have a job, and I’m usually busy living my real life on Saturday. So Wednesdays before 9 it is! I’m not joking when I say I’ve skipped a happy hour or dinner on a Wednesday before to go to the library…

I expecially needed to make time to get my loot since I’m going to Seattle for vacation next week. It’s a 1 hour flight from DC to Philly and then a 5 and a half hour flight from Philly to Seattle. I’ve brought my ereader on plane trips before, but just get so annoyed with having nothing to read when all electronics have to be off. That’s a significant enough loss of reading time for me (and time to be bored with nothing to do) that I’d rather pack lots of dead tree books and take up suitcase space than have an ereader I can’t use for part of the flight.

Here is what I got for the trip:

Wanderlust by Anne Aguirre – I’ve heard good things about the Sirantha Jax series but just dismissed it as true sci-fi doesn’t typically appeal to me. I need to get the first in the series soon before I start this one, but I’m less scared by books set in space after falling in love with Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan series and also trying Gina Koch’s Touched by an Alien.

Storm Front and Fool Moon, by Jim Butcher – So I’ve never tried this Dresden Files series and my library had the first two in the series in mass market paperpack just tempting me to give them a try. They weren’t even on my wish list. I’m scared I’ll love these because I don’t need to be addicted to another long series!

Not That Kind of Girl, by Siobhan Vivian – AnimeJune’s review here put this right on my wishlist, I think a few other YA readers have mentioned the author here and there too.

The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials, by James Dashner – yes yes another YA dystopian series. The first book The Maze Runner came out in 2009 and this has been way down on my wish list for a while…but 10 hours of sitting on a plane in my future means I have plenty of time to read plenty of books on my wish list, whether they are near the top or not!

I’m also planning on buying a few new releases to read on my trip in addition to these library books…ummm wow thinking about this now I am clearly over-packing on books. *shoulder shrug* I’ll over-pack on books, clothes, shoes, and accessories no matter what, I’m sure! Although I don’t think it’s possible to have too many books or too many outfit choices on a trip, let’s be honest.

Library loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader and Claire from The Captive Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library

5 Responses

  1. That’s a lot of UF! The Dresden File books are pretty good; they get better as they go on.

    Enjoy your vacation!

  2. You’re coming out to my neck of the woods. What’s bringing you to the Emerald City?
    My husband keeps trying to get me to start the Dresden Files. He really enjoyed them. I’ve got too many books right now but might read them in the future.
    Enjoy your loot!

  3. heidenkind: i know, more than half of my reading recently has been SF/F or PNR/UF really anything with a paranormal slant. and i like it. i really dont know what to expect with the Dresden Filed…Kate Daniels meets Eve Dallas…but as a male protagonist?

    Linda: im super excited as ive never been to the Pacific NW! just emailed you about what to see ;)

  4. I’m looking forward to hearing what you think about the Aguirre. When you’re ready…here’s my thoughts on it:) *And, if was interesting to read YOUR comment on it, lol!*

    http://overflowingbookshelf.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/the-sci-fi-experience-2011/

  5. [...] poor abandoned blog…to pick up where i left off many months ago, i got a HUGE stack of library books for our trip across the country to seattle. this was one of my best vacations of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

