Welcome to my lusty reading!

Greetings and Salutations to all ye on the world wide web. With this post I begin my journey into the unknown blogosphere (that word was unknown to me until today), and by unknown I mean at least to me. I don’t read blogs, or at least I didn’t until a few weeks ago (Perez Hilton on my lunch break doesn’t count). I had just finished reading The Three Musketeers and was horribly upset about the really sad ending. I wanted to talk to someone about this, but as I asked around I found that no one had read this book, but most did not read ANY BOOKS with regularity. Those of the aforementioned people who did read had very few books in common with my reading list.

I don’t know if this says more about me or about the friends I keep, but either way it led me to thinking about the vast, unending community of opinions the internet. Sure enough I Googled “sad ending three musketeers” and 15,700 results popped up. As I clicked from one site to another I found I could spend hours blog-hopping, and found so many people whose thoughts were the same as mine! And from those people I got great book recommendations!

Meanwhile at this exact same time I just started reading Maeve Binchy’s Quentin’s, recently rented from the library, when I happened to glance at my bookshelf and see that I actually own a copy! Granted, I glom books quickly and frequently, but how could I have forgotten I owned it? A thought flashed across my brain, I need to keep a record of the books I read, and wouldn’t it be great I included in those records what I thought about the story itself? If I forget I OWN a book, I could very well be forgetting whether I liked it or the author and mistakenly read a bad book twice. Quelle horreur!

In terms of record keeping I did immediately consider Excel, but it is not my friend and not an instrument to hold lots of words, so I thought back to all those great book review websites I had been surfing.

And thus, a blog was born. Mostly as a self help tool, but if this benefits anyone else then that’s a great side effect.

4 Responses

  1. […] 5, 2009 at 9:17 AM (Uncategorized) As I so rarely get recommendations on what to read (see: first entry, few friends with similar reading habits to mine) I have a really convoluted way of picking books. The number one way I choose a book to read is: […]

  2. This blog is starting to look great! I’m very proud of where you are going with your passion for books.

  3. […] What is wrong with me, this is exactly why I started this blog! […]

  4. […] this is exactly why I started this blog earlier this year. Plus now hubby is much happier that he doesn’t have to hear quite as much about my reading […]

Leave a Reply

