Rabbits and mice and badgers, oh my!

 

In my internet-wanderings I came across BluePyramid’s Book Quiz. Here are my results!

 

watership_downYou’re Watership Down!
by Richard Adams
Though many think of you as a bit young, even childish, you’re actually incredibly deep and complex. You show people the need to rethink their assumptions, and confront them on everything from how they think to where they build their houses. You might be one of the greatest people of all time. You’d be recognized as such if you weren’t always talking about talking rabbits.

 

I would like to think this assessment of my character based on 6 questions is accurate, (one of the greatest people of all time? obvi!) but what it really reminded me of was that I LOVED this book when I was little! I found it on my parent’s book shelf in elementary school and it started my obsession with books about animals.

 

animals_fwoodI remember reading the Animals of Farthing Wood over and over again until the spine broke and pages fell out as they became unglued, but I can’t remember what it was about! I think it was even turned into a cartoon movie. All I recall is a scene where the animals had to make a mass exodus since their woods were being destroyed and they drank out of a swimming pool, I have the distinct memory of imagining the nasty taste of chlorine in my mouth while reading that scene and hoping that the animals wouldn’t get poisoned!

 

redwall1My other favorite animal books were the Redwall Series, again I can’t remember much which is a surprise considering I spent all my allowance and Christmas money on buying about 11 books in the series! Even some in hardcover! I have a vague recollection of Martin the Warrior Mouse and how Brocktree (I think was his name?) the Badger got bloodlust. The description of his boiling rage was written so well that I always think of that feeling when someone pisses me off, like steps in front of me when I am trying to get on the metro at rush hour. Hello!! I had this spot staked out, this is DC not New York City, be nice! That’s when the boiling rage comes in and I have this desperate urge to use Brocktree’s broadsword on them and their stupid messenger bag.

 

The strongest lingering feeling I get when I think of the Redwall books is that of sadness, I’m pretty sure I stopped reading them because so many “people” died, and it got too depressing. I mean look at the above cover!

 

Anyways, thanks BluePyramid for reminding me about Watership Down, I just checked my library’s online catalogue and it’s on the shelf! Guess where I will be going later!

One Response

  1. […] while I was looking for Watership Down by Richard Adams to relive my childhood I saw the VC Andrews books and thought I would just have a peek at the back covers, but I […]

Leave a Reply

