Savannah Blues, by Mary Kay Andrews

savannah_bluesSo I’m just going to go ahead and review Savannah Blues, because I can’t get it off my brain! As you know my recent gleefulness has been due to the fun I have been having reading about Weezie and Bebe, thus I shall waste no more time to exclaim, this is the best readI have had so far this year! Total grade comes out to an A-, with only a few details preventing it from achieving the A+++++ Miss. Shields scrawled across the chalkboard as she exclaimed over Ralphie’s theme:

miss_shields

Google Images = God for finding this!

Miss. Shields: Oh! The theme I’ve been waiting for all my life. Listen to this sentence: “A Red Ryder BB gun with a compass in the stock, and this thing which tells time”. Poetry. Sheer poetry, Ralph! An A++++!

In my mind’s eye, whenever I lurve something I see that scene from A Christmas Story.

Back to the subject at hand; the blurb goes like this:

Landing a catch like Talmadge Evans III (see what I mean about Southern names?!) got Eloise “Weezie” Foley a jewel of a town house in Savannah’s historic district. Divorcing Tal got her exited to the backyard carriage house, where she has launched a spite-fest with Tal’s new fiancée, the elegant Caroline DeSantos.

An antiques picker, Weezie combs Savannah’s steamy back alleys and garage sales for treasures when she’s not dealing with her loopy relatives or her hunky ex-boyfriend. But an unauthorized sneak preview at a sale lands Weezie smack in the middle of magnolia-scented murder, mayhem . . . and more. Dirty deals simmer all around her — just as her relationship with the hottest chef in town heats up andshe finds out how delicious love can be the second time around.

Read on for my thoughts:

I thought Weezie was sharp, likeable, and she and Bebe both had snapping one-liners and rejoinders that made me snort as I was reading on my lunch break in the library. I loved hearing about her “finds” as she scrounged around estate sales as picker. My understanding is that the author herself was a picker, and thus her experience lends to the very detailed descriptions of the treasures and junk Weezie discovers. I also thought the insight Andrews showed into Weezie’s feelings for her ex-husband seemed realistic and made me appreciate the character that much more.

The whole cast of characters, from her bff Bebe Loudermilk, her Uncle James, and her parents each had parallel stories (thrice divorced and running a restaurant, Catholic priest-turned gay- turned lawyer, and alcoholic mother) that only added to the plot and flow of the narrative rather than detracting or distracting me. I was crushing on Weezie’s love interest, Daniel, and salivated over the descriptions of his cooking, I would not recommend reading this if you are hungry!

Overall this book made me want to:

  • Travel to Savannah
  • Find hidden treasures in other people’s trashcans before paying through the nose at my favorite local 2nd hand store Ruff N Ready
  • Redecorate
  • Read ALL OF Mary Kay Andrews’ backlist

I only had a few issues:

  • The most minor – how did she not recognize Daniel Stipanek? The last she saw him he was 19ish, that is pretty full grown. Also, the details of their original relationship were vague, or I am just obtuse, was he her first?
  • Everyone (including the police) seemed to get over Weezie’s potential involvement in a murder pretty quickly
  • The point of view changes from first person (Weezie) to third person of other characters, mainly her Uncle James. This was a little confusing, but ultimately gave a more well-rounded view of the story.
  • The reconciliation scene at the end was waaaayyy too short for my liking, they never “talked their problems out” so I was not left with a sense of HEA, but I know there are more books covering Weezie and Daniel’s relationship, so I just hope my library has them in stock!
4 Responses

  1. […] Granted, I set the bar very high as the first book in this series Savannah Blues was the best book I have read in the past 3 months, but still I was […]

  2. […] this? Out of the 76 books I’ve read so far Mary Kay Andrew’s Savannah Blues was my favorite new book of all of them this year *applause*, and is now on my top favorites list of ALL TIME *cheers, and […]

  3. […] Savannah Blues, by Mary Kay Andrews (check out my shiny-new-fangirl review here) […]

  4. […] about this author? She is awesome! I discovered her on accident but am so happy I did! Check out all my thoughts on this book here, but I highly recommend this lit fic/chick lit book. It’s so super fun, will make you RL LOL, […]

Leave a Reply

