Friday Finds (Feb 27)

friday_finds1I’ve been keeping a tally all week so I could participte in Miz B’s Friday Finds again! Ever since I started paying more attention to book blogs, reviews, and yes, even making a few “friends” dare I call you, on the internet to share recommendations my TBR has grown exponentially. In the past it was usually only 2 or 3 books I picked up from the library with little or no research, and I almost always disliked at least one of them, so things are much improved these days!

Without further ado, here is what I have on deck:

From the library –

  • Never Seduce a Scoundrel by Sabrina Jeffries (no research on this one, was just on the Romance Paperback display and the blurb sounded interesting)
  • These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer (I really liked The Black Moth when I read it a while ago and wanted to try something else)
  • The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch (trying to mix things up, I have heard about this book all over the mass media and it’s in the window of every book store)

From other sources-

  • Family Plots by Mary Patrick Kavanaugh (again just to mix up my reading habits with something a little different; I was intrigued by Cheryl’s review)
  • Velvet Glove by Emma Holly (found a good review while stalking the archives of the Smart Bitches)
  • Free Food for Millionaires by Min Jin Lee (recommended by my recently engaged friend Danni while sharing wedding cake advice)

I have a feeling I won’t be good company for hubby this weekend as I really want to make a dent in these excellent finds!

7 Responses

  1. I haven’t heard anything about The Last Lecture, I’ll have to give that one a look.

  2. Maybe I was just receiving a lot of “signs” that I should read it, I saw it in my newspaper, in People magazine, in other peoples’ hands on the metro, and on the front stand at the past two bookstores I went to. Just a warning, I expect it is a tear jerker!

    Here is the blurb: When Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, was asked to give such a lecture, he didn’t have to imagine it as his last, since he had recently been diagnosed with terminal cancer. But the lecture he gave—”Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams”—wasn’t about dying. It was about the importance of overcoming obstacles, of enabling the dreams of others, of seizing every moment.

  3. Whoa Whoa Whoa!

    If you haven’t seen or read the Last Lecture I highly suggest you do so:

    RIP Randy.

  4. I’m reading a book right now that has a character who loves to read Georgette Heyer novels; it’s called The Fiction Class (by Susan Breen). Have you heard of it? So far it’s pretty good, not a classic by any stretch, but I’m enjoying it. It’s about a woman who teaches fiction classes, and finds out that her dying mother (who is the GH fan and who named her, the teacher, after a character in a GH novel) wants to become a writer, too.

  5. Tabitha: I haven’t heard of The Fiction Class but I like the sound of it! It’ll be on my Friday Finds next week, crediting you, thanks!

  6. I’m reading the Last Lecture right now, and loving it! I’m curious to see what you think!

  7. Sarah: Glad to hear your are enjoying The Last Lecture! I just picked it up from the library and plan on reading it this weekend, that way I can bawl my eyes out and have time to rest up before seeing anybody ;)

Leave a Reply

