What do you mean, funny? Funny how?

This photo was taken a block from my office. The first time I passed this scene I immediately took a picture on my phone and texted it to hubby saying “LOL.” He wrote back, “I don’t get it, it’s not funny.” I drew in a sharp breath of annoyance, fingers poised over the tiny buttons ready to blast back the obvious answer when I deflated…I couldn’t verbalize WHY I found these signs hilarious.

I can’t explain it and I don’t feel like trying. They just ARE. It just IS funny to me and I laugh every time I go to the library. Which is often.

img_0761

I don’t it quite passes muster to go on the Fail Blog, but that was my gut reaction.

I felt like we were channeling a little Tommy DeVito: You mean, let me understand this cause, ya know maybe it’s me, I’m a little fucked up maybe, but I’m funny how, I mean funny like I’m a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh, I’m here to fuckin’ amuse you? What do you mean funny, funny how? How am I funny?

Henry Hill: Just, you know, your story was funny…

Tommy: No, no, I don’t know, you said it. How do I know? You said I’m funny. How the fuck am I funny, what the fuck is so funny about me? Tell me, tell me what’s funny!

5 Responses

  1. THANK YOU for lol-ing with me.

  2. […] than I and had much much larger TBR mountains. As many of my regular readers know, I am a library whore, and my wallet has been happy in that regard. But since I’ve starting blogging the itch to buy […]

  3. […] section to see if there is anything new. There is never anything new. Not in my library that is less important than a funeral home [yes you should click on […]

  4. […] Northern Virginia (red arrow to the side of the map above, about 20 minutes outside DC). Although the sign for this library always makes me laugh, the building and collection of books are AWESOME and huge […]

Leave a Reply

