Friday Finds (April 10)

What great books did you hear about/discover this week? Share with MizB at Should be Reading and the rest of us bloggers at Friday Finds! Oh and don’t worry avisannschild – I made sure to include covers this week! :)

no1ladiesThe No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, by Alexander McCall Smith – I have seen a ton of ads on TV for this new HBO show and found out it was a book series first (aren’t they all?). This is the same way I found out about the fabu Sookie Stackhouse books, so so far HBO has a good track record of introducing me to new books! Plus I read an interview from the lead actress Jill Scott that was really cute. She needed to gain weight for the show and then right before they started taping she found out she was pregnant! What serendipity!

 

secrettohappinessSecrets to Happiness, by Sarah Dunn – for Christmas this year my mom got me a subscription to Bon Appetit while my mother-in-law got me one to People magazine. Ah, my life is the perfect combination in SO MANY ways, how lucky am I? Anywhoo, last week’s People had a great review for this book. Plus how cute is the cover? My mutt’s face often has that expression of bliss. Très mignon!

 

 

timetravelerswife1The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger – Ok, I am super behind the times in not reading this, right? As I mentioned last week I am looking for time travel books, and after browsing on Amazon this popped up as a recommended read. I can’t believe I didn’t think about it on my own!!! I’m picking it up from the library today. 

7 Responses

  1. It is a cute cover! I hope you enjoy The TIme Traveler’s Wife.

  2. City of Thieves by David Benioff. I’m serious! It’s the good.

  3. Time Traveler’s Wife is amazing.

  4. Nise: i know, the little mary janes are aDORable!

    Malnurtured Snay: ok, sigh. I did see your rec earlier, but the 4 line summary online contained these quotes, “looting corpses, most ghoulish acts, nightmarish war zones, populated by cannibals, prostitutes, starving children, and demonic Nazi” I won’t lie, that turned me off…

    Will it make me feel sick to my stomach while reading? Does it have a happy ending?

  5. I hope you enjoy the Time Traveler’s Wife. I still haven’t read it, but I hope to soon, since the movie is coming out. Great finds :)

    ~ Popin

  6. You know, I read about half of The Time Traveler’s Wife when it first came out and for some reason I got bored and put it down. I brought it here to Okinawa to read but never did. Maybe I’ll pick it up again once we are back in the states soon. It seems to be a fav here.

  7. It has a happy ending. And, hey, no zombies!

Leave a Reply

