Upcoming Release: The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews

I have read 76 books so far in 2009. Whew, in the past 25 years I have never kept track of my reading, so as much as I knew I read A LOT I have never counted before.

I impress even myself (and I have a VERY high opinion of myself fyi).

Why am I mentioning this? Out of the 76 books I’ve read so far Mary Kay Andrew’s Savannah Blues was my favorite new book of all of them this year *applause*, and is now on my top favorites list of ALL TIME *cheers, and the crowd goes wild!*

So I am VERY happy to annouce her upcoming new release The Fixer Upper available on June 23rd, 2009.

fixer_upper_andrews

How freaking adorbs is that cover? Here is the blurb:

After her boss in a high-powered Washington public relations firm is caught in a political scandal, fledgling lobbyist Dempsey Jo Killebrew is left almost broke, unemployed, and homeless. Out of options, she reluctantly accepts her father’s offer to help refurbish Birdsong, the old family place he recently inherited in Guthrie, Georgia. All it will take, he tells her, is a little paint and some TLC to turn the fading Victorian mansion into a real-estate cash cow.

But, oh, is Dempsey in for a surprise when she arrives in Guthrie. “Bird Droppings” would more aptly describe the moldering Pepto Bismol–pink dump with duct-taped windows and a driveway full of junk. There’s also a murderously grumpy old lady, one of Dempsey’s distant relations, who has claimed squatter’s rights and isn’t moving out. Ever.

Furthermore, everyone in Guthrie seems to know Dempsey’s business, from a smooth-talking real-estate agent to a cute lawyer who owns the local newspaper. It wouldn’t be so bad if it weren’t for the pesky FBI agents who show up on Dempsey’s doorstep, hoping to pry information about her ex-boss from her.

All Dempsey can do is roll up her sleeves and get to work. And before long, what started as a job of necessity somehow becomes a labor of love and, ultimately, a journey that takes her to a place she never expected—back home again.

8 Responses

  1. That looks like it will be good! The cover is adorable.

  2. And you were feeling bad about not reading before! : )

  3. Oh my gosh…I don’t think I’ve read 76 books in the last TEN YEARS. Kudos to you for that! I wish I had more time to read. BUT…this morning, I started a book called The Wednesday Letters, by Jacob Wright. I couldn’t put it down. After about 100 pages, I forced myself to, but I’m about to go back to it in a bit. Anyway, if you haven’t heard of it or read it yet, I think you’d like it.

  4. Cassie: I hope so! I already asked my library to order it. I’m sure my librarians love me

    Art: I know, looking at that number made me feel much better

    Tabitha: I haven’t heard of it, I just looked up the summary and think if I DO read it I will need lots of tissues near by. Looks like a real tear jerker!

  5. I cannot believe you have read 76 books in 5 months! That is freaking.incredible!

  6. It is completely adorbs.

    In other news, I am stealing the word “adorbs” from you.

  7. reederscorner: i perfected watching really bad/good reality TV and reading at the same time

    lilu: i couldn’t decide if it should be adorbs or adorebs. but now that you’re stealing it i’ll stick with the original.

  8. I was browsing at Target this weekend and stumbled across this book. I remembered you raving about how much you enjoyed her works, so I went ahead and purchased. I’ve been inhaling this bad boy — love love love it! Can’t wait to catch up on her backlist. Thanks for always steering me in the right direction;)

Leave a Reply

