Friday Finds (June 5th)

friday_finds_buttonWhat great books did you hear about or discover this week? Share with us at Friday Finds! Hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading!

As long as the DC weather cooperates I will be spending both Saturday and Sunday at 2 different friends’ pools, so will get plenty of reading in!

thirteenthtaleThe Thirteenth Taleby Diane Setterfield: When home visiting my parents recently I stole this one right off my mom’s bedside table. I had never heard of it before but it was on the 2006 NYT best seller’s list, but hey, better I read this late than never! 

 

 

darktimeDark Time by Dakota Banks: I saw this on Katiebabs place, it will be released in July 2009. Dark fantasy about soul stealing demons is a little outside my typical comfort zone, but I wanted to expand my horizons.

 

 

bronteprojectThe Bronte Project, by Jennifer Vandever: This was on Jess’ Friday Finds not too long ago and I loved the sound of the protagonist, a Charlotte Bronte scholar dumped by her fiancee, finds a new romantic interest and travels internationally for her historical research.

 

 

belongtomeBelong to Me,by Marisa de los Santos: Read a great review and author interview on Karen’s Planet Books

12 Responses

  1. I really liked The Thirteenth Tale. Good story-telling. The Bronte Project was a bit of a miss for me. I didn’t hate it, but it didn’t really do anything for me either. In fact, I don’t really remember much about it.

  2. Thirteenth Tale sounds really good. As does Dark Time by Dakota Banks, I like that genre and haven’t heard of that book before. Good find!

    ~ Popin

  3. I read The Thirteenth Tale a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it. The Bronte Project sounds like it could be interesting – I’ll have to give it a look. Nice list.

  4. Olga: not remembering isn’t the best sign…hmmm i just checked and they have it at my library, so it’s free to read at least even if it doesn’t turn out great.

    Popin: happy to share! it’s hard to keep up with all the “future release dates” i think Dark Time was announced fairly recently.

    JLS: i’m happy to hear so many positive things about The Thirteenth Tale! I know I’m getting to it late, but I’m excited!

  5. These all sound really good. I really wanted to read The Thirteenth Tale last year, but never got to it. Now is a good time – I’m glad you reminded me of the book.

  6. The Thirteenth Tale was really good! I read it a few months ago. And I have Belong To Me just waiting to be read …

  7. I love that I never, ever need to worry about finding something to read this summer… I’ll just come here ;-)

  8. Second (or twelth) all above, The Thirteenth Tale was a good read. Can’t wait to hear what you think.

  9. Good on ya for stealing The Thirteenth Tale! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I recently won Belong to Me and I’m really looking forward to reading it! Did you read her first book? This one is a sequel of sorts, although I gather you can read them separately.

  10. Belong to Me has been on my list of books to buy since the winter. Nice list. Here’s my list

  11. Great finds! I already have a couple of these books on my wish list :)

    Here’s my Friday Finds

  12. Crystal: If I hadn’t stared participating in Friday Finds I would *never* remember my wish list either!

    Heather: well that’s three points towards the 13th Tale being the next books I read…

    Lilu: jwell that’s my good deed done then ;)

    Art: 4 points for the 13th tale…

    Aviannschild: 5 points for the 13th tale, and no I didn’t know Belong To Me was a connected book! Thanks!

    Jacqueline and Ladybug: thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

