Friday Finds (June 12)

friday_finds_buttonWhat great books did you hear about or discover this week? Share with us at Friday Finds! Hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading!

 

 

lost-recipe-for-happinessThe Lost Recipe for Happiness, by Barbara O’Neal: as per usual I found out about this book through a roundabout way. I saw Ms. O’Neal’s comment on another blog and felt a kindred spirit with her immediately. Here is what she said,

“Thank you so much for this post. I never quite understand why dark endings are automatically better than upbeat endings, or why tragedy is more intelligent than joy. Life tends to give us both, and both are fair subjects for intelligent writing.”

Plus the cover has a dog on it. Auto buy!!!

gone_1Gone, by Michael Grant: this is the first book in a series and the second book, Hunger, was just released in May 2009. I just saw a review on The Book Smugglers and they had such positive things to say.

I also have been craving a creative “what if?” book…and this fits the bill as it’s about what if all adults suddenly disappear and kids have free reign.

Although I didn’t like Lord of the Flies, those mean kids creeped the heck outta me, I haven’t read that in 15 years since I was required to for class, so I might as well give the idea another try!

10 Responses

  1. I read The Lost Recipe for Happiness and really enjoyed it.

    Gone sounds interesting.

  2. Both look like great reads — fantastic finds!

  3. They both sound like they’d be very good!

  4. I found Gone and Hunger a couple of weeks ago…they look really good and are on my WL

  5. I’ve added Gone on my wish list now! Great finds!

  6. Just wanted to let you know your blog was mentioned as A Book Blogger’s New Discovery this week!

  7. Nice finds! Here are my finds: (1) and (2)

  8. I’ve got “The Lost Receipe for Happiness” on my TBR pile!

  9. “Gone” looks like a Lifetime movie waiting to happen…

  10. I just got Gone from a friend last week. I haven’t started it yet but I plan to soon.

Leave a Reply

