My July Escapist Reads

Boy oh boy did I need to escape life this month. Amidst all the fun social things (2 weddings, Billy Joel & Elton John concert, RWA, romancelandia blogger get togethers) I have been unbeLIEVably stressed about real life stuff.

Hubby and I are serioulsy house hunting. This has caused some serious “discussions” (aka arguments) about what, where, when, how? What do we want, house or condo? Where do we want, vibrant night life, quiet residential, upscale neighborhood, “transitional” neighborhood? When can we move? We have more weddings and our own ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY coming up! And how.

Good lord, the how, how will we pay for it?

Also I think I may now have an ulcer just thinking that my savings account, future paychecks, life, body and soul are going to belong to a bank. They still take payments in the form of a pound of flesh, right? Cuz I have a few pounds I’d like to get rid of…

We recently found a fabulous place in our current neighborhood (Logan Circle for you DC peeps) but hubby was worried about lack of storage space. This is the insanity I have to deal with:

Him: I don’t think it’s the right place for us. There is nowhere to put the stroller.

Me: WHAT stroller?!

Him: For when we have a baby.

Me: We are not NOT buying a house because you don’t know where you would put the stroller for our potential future baby that we DON’T EVEN KNOW WHEN WE’RE GOING TO HAVE!!!

Followed by wailing and gnashing of teeth.

But the best way for me to relax? To read. And so I did. LOTS.

July 2009 Finished Reading List

  1. Gone, Michael Grant A
  2. The Mirror,Marlys Millhiser A
  3. Practice Makes Perfect, Julie James A-
  4. Mara, Daughter of the Nile,Eloise Jarvis McGraw re-read from a looong time ago A-
  5. Duke Most Wanted, Celeste Bradley A-
  6. What I did for Love, Susan Elizabeth Phillips B+
  7. This Lullaby,Sarah Dessen B+
  8. Hunger, Michael Grant B
  9. To Taste Temptation, Elizabeth Hoyt B
  10. To Seduce a Sinner, Elizabeth Hoyt B
  11. To Beguile a Beast, Elizabeth Hoyt B-
  12. The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, Alexander McCall Smith B-
  13. The Thirteenth Tale,Diane Setterfield B-
  14. Lord of Pleasure,Delilah Marvelle B-
  15. My Wicked Marquess,Gaelen Foley C+
  16. Every Breath You Take,Judith McNaught C
14 Responses

  1. i SO escape into books. i think that’s my coping mechanism. i should get that looked at, probably.

    house buying=scary! good luck with all that. and strollers, like fold and stuff, right? i think a house can hold a stroller no matter how small.

  2. Yo-
    I have now written you 2 emails to your gmail, and just wrote a 3rd to share my house hunting experience.

    Also- my newest book read was “Bitter is the New Black”- think you would like it!

  3. Well…at least he’s a planner. Some guys can’t think beyond what they’re doing in an hour. I hope it gets easier, sweets!

    Glad the reading is at least a good escape. I just finished reading True Love and Other Disasters by Rachel Gibson. It was super cute and really entertaining. You might like it for a laugh.

  4. Aw, I think it’s cute the dh is thinking ahead to kids. It’s good to be prepared. Gotta appreciate a guy who thinks like that.

    The Stephanie Plum books always work for me. They are so fluffy that I can’t help but laugh. Other than that I’ve been reading pretty dark/paranormal stuff. Probably not what you’re looking for though, huh?

    Hopefully you’ll get to relax some this weekend and de-stress. Have a good one!

  5. You are SO getting prego this year. We should take bets on the conception date now. I call New Year’s Eve.

  6. Hey, thanks for the book recommendations, I’m almost done reading Wicked and have been looking for a new book to start!

  7. Good luck with the house hunting!

    I thought Gone was a really good read too! Can’t wait for the third book.

  8. Becky: reading a coping mechanism sounds very safe, doesn’t sound like you need to get looked at at all!!!

    Danni: my bad, just send you two 3 page essays in response. and thanks for the book rec!

    Kati: we balance each other out i think. and even with the 3489 great things i have heard about Rachel Gibson I have yet to read anything by her! I will change that stat.

    Stacy: i haven’t re-read my stephanie plums in a while, great idea! those always help me escape and relax!

    Lilu: i hope you mean new years 2015!!

    Taylor: great, I hope you enjoy!

    Debbie: Thanks, any good luck is very welcome, it is such a scary process. I adored Gone, but am worried about how “horror” filled Hunger was, and that it’s just going to get worse as the series goes on. Gore, horror, death, etc is not my cup of tea.

  9. What did I do before I found your blog? Just when I’m in dire need of new books I come here to reviews. Good luck with the house hunting girlie!

  10. Omg babies.

    My friends are married. Once they have kids- I give up on finding a girlfriend. I’ve fallen behind on life.

    I do not want to think about which one of my friends will have kids first.

  11. Great list! You’re right, we do have reading tastes in common :-).

    Good luck with the house hunting!

  12. Haha! Reading your blog is like reading about my life. We just went through the same house hunting (ie. months of arguing) experience and are about to celebrate our one year anniversary!!

  13. […] I read the first book in Michael Grant’s new series, Gone, and ADORED it, in fact it was my best read in July. Whenever I read something that grips me, that I dream about, that I stay up until 2:30am […]

  14. I see many great books on your list! I loved ‘Practice Makes Perfect’. Julie James has a third book out next March, I think. ‘This Lullaby’ is my second favourite Sarah Dessen book – ‘Just Listen’ takes first place.

Leave a Reply

