Life is a highway…and all I want is a nap

These past few years have been a literal whirlwind:

I graduated college and moved to DC at 21 years old

Changed jobs and got a dog at 22

Engaged at 23

Married at 24

Bought first house at 25

So first off, YAY WE BOUGHT A HOUSE! Secondly…whew, that’s a lot of things checked off the “to do list” of life! So I was all thinking, oh yeah, got all the big stuff out of the way for a while…

I mean all these events seem HUGE to me, and they definitely are special, but when faithfully listening to my country radio stations I heard this song that reminded me this is how it’s going to be forever…

Darryl Worley’s Sounds Like Life to Me

…I say hey man, what’s going on
He said I don’t know where to start

Sarah’s old car’s about to fall apart
And the washer quit last week
We had to put momma in the nursing home
And the baby’s cutting teeth
I didn’t get much work this week
And I got bills to pay
I said I know this ain’t what you wanna hear
But it’s what I’m gonna say…

Sounds like life to me it ain’t no fantasy
It’s just a common case of everyday reality
Man I know it’s tough but you gotta suck it up
To hear you talk you’re caught up in some tragedy
It sounds like life to me.

Although I am wicked excited our offer was just accepted for our new house, and making a life, home and family with my amazing hubby…I really just want a nap. A vacation. A break from life.

Maybe even pack up 30 romance novels and run away to the beach.

It certainly didn’t help that I started reading a new book on the metro this morning and the VERY FIRST PARAGRAPH seemed like way too much of a sign:

Admit it. Come on. At some point in your life…you said, “Enough! I just wish I could pack up and leave this all behind! This job, city, this tired relationship [ok not that part!], this apartment, and just move somewhere! A-whole-nothing country, another culture, a new group of friends. Change my entire existence. Yeah, some place dreamy, beautiful, romantic, where life would feel like an endless vacation..Paris!” God wouldn’t that be great? You’d startle the hell out of your friends…and most importantly surprise yourself.

So while maybe that all isn’t applicable to me, I definitely connected with Klein in Paris Hangover from line one. Since I can’t go to Paris as we have to save money for a new sofa, to pay the electrician, install a shower door, change the locks, etc etc etc…I can at least escape there in a book!

18 Responses

  1. Woohoo! Congrats, Charlotte! Amazing news! Whereabouts is your new place??

  2. Thanks Kati!! It feels like a dream world, I can barely believe it’s real. We are only moving 5 blocks! To the U Street/Shaw area.

  3. Yeah, congratulations! That is fantastic news!

    And 25? OMG – you’re a baby :)

  4. Congrats on the house!! That is so awesome!!!

  5. Congratulations on the new house!! That’s fantastic news–and I got tired just looking at all of those feats, my dear. It certainly looks like you’ve been living in a whirlwind!

  6. That’s wonderful news LR!! Congratulations! It really is an exciting time and for us we can see the light at the end of the tunnel. Our final walkthrough on the house is scheduled for 8/28 and the closing is 8/31! Woo hoo and cheers to us!

  7. can i please live vicariously through you? and by that i mean – go antiquing and find an amazing chandelier that can be installed because you OWN your home instead of rent a tiny apt? *sigh* let me know if i can help with anything!

  8. Wendy: now i just need to be babied a bit, that would be perfect!

    Jill: thanks dear! i *hope* it will be awesome, we have a bit of work to do…

    Olga: let’s be tired together, maybe I can run away to Cananada instead? and we can read Harlequin Blaze’s all day?

    Planet Books: twinsies, we close on 8/28!

    my bestest bestie: arrrgh thanks for reminding me of ANOTHER thing to put on my to do list. i *must* have a chandelier, stat. maybe i’ll run away to new york to shop for it. can i sleep on your newlywed couch?

  9. Congrats! That is unbelievable. Really happy for you guys. You’ve definitely earned an escape.

  10. WOOT on the house! Now you can have fun decorating!

  11. I am still living with my parents, but I feel that way all the time. Who wouldn’t want a break from responsibility? And I have to admit I’ve always been bad about the “day-to-day grind” thing. I’m the type of person who needs to be distracted by new stuff all the time.

  12. I told my friend Krissy once that she was speeding through life. I gave her a “life” speeding ticket.

    I should write you one too ;-)

    Congrats on the house!

  13. Oooohhhh… Houses are fun!

    You’re a real grown up now.

  14. Congratulations! Owning a place is fun – my favorite part is picking what colors to paint!

  15. Is it freaky when you’re thinking something, you pick up a book, and there’s exactly what you were thinking?

    Congrats on the new house!

  16. AWESOME!! congrats!

    maybe you can make your first week in the new house a forced vacation? you guys can just chill out there, order in every night, and read a lot? :-)

  17. […] still can’t believe that we own a home! And yes I still sort of just want to take a nap and/or run away with a suitcase full of romance […]

  18. […] candidates at work, and buying our first home! It’s been a whirlwind and while sometimes I wish I could go back to my low-rent apartment with no responsibilities and just take a nap, at least I can always escape […]

Leave a Reply

