Friday Finds (Aug 14)

Friday_FindsFriday Finds Time! I have been MIA from Miz B at Should Be Reading’s meme for a while since I finally have a real live TBR! The one or two books from the library I used to have to-be-read didn’t even COUNT as a pile, and now that I have a worthy TBR I haven’t been keeping track of new books I want for Friday Finds, I’ve been trying to not make a list of more books to buy since I already have so many!

Without futher ado here are a few great reads that just came on my radar:

tale_miss_percy_parkerThe Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker, by Leanna Renee Hieber  – So the title’s a little bit of a mouthful but I DARE you not to lust for this book after you read KatieBabs’ review! This YA “Victorian Gothic Paranormal Ghost filled tale with romance that both teens and adults can read” will be released on August 25th, 2009.

 

 

 

the_girl_dragon_tattooThe Girl with a Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson – I actually only just heard about this one, from my Mother-in-Law as she just read it for her book club. As soon as I looked into it I found out I’m totally late to the party on this one! Girl with a Dragon Tattoo has had so much buzz about it for a while, as the debut novel in a thriller-type trilogy, especailly as Mr. Larsson actually passed away right before being published. To find out more about the last 2 books, possible movie, and rumors of a 4th post-humus book you can visit his website here.

white_queen_gregoryThe White Queen, by Philippa Gregory – I love Ms. Gregory’s books, but didn’t know she had a new one coming out till I visited Planet Books and saw she was enjoying an ARC of The White Queen. I’m so excited for it’s release on August 18th! [As a complete side note, doing a Google Image Search of “The White Queen” to find the cover image did NOT give me the anticipated results, I was a little shocked!]

 

Did YOU come across as new-to-you books recently? Do tell!

13 Responses

  1. I have The Girl with a Dragon Tattoo in my TBR but haven’t got the time to read it yet.

    “Victorian Gothic Paranormal Ghost filled tale with romance”, wow, what else do I need? I love Horror and ghosts and I love romance too :)

  2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo caught my eye also. My find is here:
    http://jo-jolovestoread.blogspot.com/2009/08/friday-finds-aug-14.html

  3. Ooh, ‘The White Queen’ looks good!!

    Happy Reading!!

  4. The title to Percy Parker is a handful but the writing is lovely and Percy is adorable. Percy’s crush Alexi is very swoonworthy ;)

  5. I’ll have to Google Image that at home. Now I’m scared! LOL

  6. Violet: I thought that quote about Percy Parker was so perfect a description! I hope we both get to the Girl with a Dragon Tattoo soon!

    Jo-Jo: between the cool cover and the summary, Girl w Dragon Tattoo is too good to pass up!

    Barbara: yay, I’m excited for it! thanks!

    KB: i will read it preparing to swwon, keeping my heartshorn (sp?) nearby!

    Planet Books: forewarned is forearmed!

  7. i just ordered the girl with a dragon tattoo online yesterday! don’t start reading it yet… it takes me longer to finish and you don’t give spoiler alerts ;-)

  8. bestie: oh burn! i don’t give spoiler alerts? i must protest! i certainly do, right? for the most part? i will be more careful…

    gautami: im glad i stumbled across it!

  9. Ooooh – Gothic paranormal – sounds so good. I have added The Girl with Dragon Tattoo to my library list earlier this week and keep hearing great things about it.

  10. I saw Percy Parker on katiebabs site, too, and I want to read it SO BAD. I can’t believe I made that commitment not to buy any more books until my TBR shelf was under control. :(

  11. I have seen that Hieber book around this week and it does sound better and better each time I come across it.
    Nice finds

  12. Oh, I really want to read The White Queen!

Leave a Reply

