Hodgepodge of Western Romance, BBAW awards, and thoughts on Blue Diablo

I recently won a grab bag of 10 random books from my favorite place to buy used romance novels online: Better Than Chocolate Book Co.

One of the books was a Western Romance and I set it at the bottom of my TBR pile immediately, as I just “don’t read Westerns.”

But then the Great Western Drive began in the romancelandia blog world with Wendy Super Librarian, Kristi(J), and Sybil at TGTBTU leading the charge!

So many people have hitched their wagon to this rodeo, definitely check our Kristie’s link filled post rounding up the others discussing favorite Western movies, actors, TV series, and cowboy/horse teams.

As I share a birthday with Roy Rogers I’m gonna have to go with him.

wantedman_millerSo like the open minded Lusty Reader I am, I have not only been dutifully taking notes on their Western recommedations to add to my Wish List (none of them I have ever heard of or read btw!) and also thought, “Why the heck not just rustle up that Western from the bottom of the stack and give it a shot?!”

So I am now reading A Wanted Man by Linda Lael Miller. Can I just tell you the hero has a loyal dog named Pardner? LOVE IT. And the hero’s name ain’t half bad either at Rowdy Rhodes ;)

Although nothing can EVER EVER beat the real cowboy names from when we went to the Houston rodeo!!!

 *******
In other news, somebody (or a few ubernice somebodies!) nomiated me for a Book Blogger Appreciate Week Award  in the category of Best Romance Blog.

As other nominees sprung up in blog land I am just aboslutely awed and honored to be among them! Thank you sooo very much!

bbaw-button2009

*******

bluediabloLastly I just finished reading Blue Diablo by Anne Aguirre. I loved the paranormal world building and enjoyed it overall.

It was hard for me to adore either of the love interests for Corine, as it always is for me for stories told in first person narrative. And I don’t adore love triangles in general. And because this is a series there was only ONE KISS in the whole book because the personal issues/relationship story line has to be elooooongated and draaaaaawwwn out to last the series. Which I didn’t really like.

Bare bones review: Struck me as a Paranormal Stephanie Plum book. My favoite character and scenes were all those with Butch, the dog Corine and Chance rescued who can understand what people are saying and respond with “yes” or “no” barks.

11 Responses

  1. I wonder if Aguirre’s books can even really be categorized as “romance.” Generally romance doesn’t seem to be the focus of her books; more of a subplot.

  2. Congrats, girly!!! I wish you the best of luck. BTW, I’m actually diggin this Western Drive. I pulled out a few books that I need to read.

  3. Hmmm. I can’t argue with hot cowboys…

  4. Congrats!!! I am just reading about the Western drive..I like it:)

    I liked Blue Diablo…curious to see where Corinne and Chance are headed..

  5. The diaphragm seance scene in Blue Diablo had me rolling it was way to funny.

    I need a Butch!

  6. Sweet!! Thanks for the pimpage!! And wow – it’s working
    heh heh heh. I just picked up a Linda Lael Miller book tonight – well – not one but two! One for me and one for the contest.
    And speaking of contests – Wendy has one going and the books she’s giving away are WONDERFUL!!! I know this because I read it and Mmm, mmm, mmm – it’s what a good Western book is supposed to be.

  7. *well smack me on the head and call me stupid* Sybil has one running now too!

  8. Heidenkind: that’s a good point, i think i just made the assumption, but it was no more a romance than the first Stephanie Plum book

    Barbara:
    I know, I am surprisingly into this Western Drive thing myself! Plus all the pics people have been putting up of cute cowboys certainly doesn’t hurt ;)

    Lilu:
    something about a stetson makes my skirt fly up

    Mandi: i’m curious to see what happens next too! but i feel like the relationship side of things won’t be resolved ANY time soon! i’m more curious about who Corine and Chance’s dad’s are and to learn more about their moms too.

    katiebabs: that was a great scene! but really, who still uses those things anyways?!?!

    Kristie: I am headin on over to enter right now! there is no way i can resist your pimpage!

  9. Congratulations for the romance nom! I’m so nervous – they’re going to start judging our posts tomorrow and then we’ll hear about the shortlisting on the 7th of September.

  10. Rowdy? Really? That’s almost as awesome as a western hero named Colt – LOL

  11. You’ll love Linda’s books, especially A Wanted Man. Thank you for the Blue Diablo suggestion. I’m shopping for it now.

    Cowboy Love,
    Natalie Acres

Leave a Reply

