Getting Twiggy With It

Yesterday I caved and went to Borders after work. Damn you book bloggers/twitterers for getting me hooked on two new-to-me series with huge back lists *shaking fist at you* and no libraries in the DC area carry paranormal romance apparently. Harumph.

So. There I was at the bookstore, walking in with a smile on my face, good cheer bubbling up inside me just looking around at the treasures, and even with a To Buy List in hand I was drawn to the front displays. I’m a marketer’s dream, what I can say? If they had had any of these perfume sticks I would have bought it on sight.

Then I noticed it…Between the two front tables a common cover theme caught my eye. Twigs everywhere! What is up with this?

her-fearful-symmetrybookoflostthingsshiver-final-cover

in-the-woods

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I find these covers super attractive and although the only book I know much about is Shiver my guess is the twigs/trees/branches may be symbolic of nature and literally the woods play a role in that story, but not too sure about the others.

Edited To Add: Also ever since I saw these covers I have this song/book stuck in my head from when I was a teeny tiny tot. Does anyone else remember this???

If you go into the woods today, you’re in for a big surprise

If you go into the woods today, you’d better go in disguise

For every bear that ever there was has gathered there and that’s because Today’s the Day the teddy bears have their piiiicnic.

I can’t remember the rest of it…

The covers are different enough, but still so similar I wonder if this is a coincidence or if some cover artists in New York have a twiggy conspiracy going. What do you think?

11 Responses

  1. Probably inspired by a US theatrical film poster of Premonition (starring Sandra Bullock), released in 2007.

    Poster — http://aycu16.webshots.com/image/11055/2000123281331451485_rs.jpg

  2. I love the twiggy book covers they suck me in everytime. Remind me of wandering into the woods behind my house when I was a kid where the adults forbid us kids from going because the “giant kid-eating boar” would get us. I am not even kidding that’s what they told us! :o) So I guess the twigs are working & thats why they keep using different variations on the theme.
    ~ Heather a.k.a. BookObsessedGrl

  3. Maili: oh good call since that came out a bit ago, enough to be an influence. I am dangerously attracted to entering those creepy woods! Something about them beckons…

    Hlhosteh: I agree, they look like a mystery that needs to be explored!

  4. OMG!!!

    Nostalgia for the win! :-0

  5. That was supposed to be a smiley face. Not an awkward O face.

    Well, it is Thursday…

  6. omg, yes! my sister and i had that song on a RECORD, i believe.

  7. i read “in the woods” and all i have to say is “meh.” not a fan of the ending.

    ps thank you for getting the teddy bear song in my head. no, really, it’s like my favorite song ever :)

  8. ;-)

    There’s also a not-obnoxious version of it on this disc.

  9. I LOVE the cover of In The Woods.
    Also I find http://www.bookdepository.co.uk is waaay cheaper than Borders if you have a huge backlist of book lusts, and they ship internationally for free. I live in Australia so all books are uber expensive here, but I hear BD is still cheaper than most other places in the US.

  10. Lusty!

    I just typed up my review of Her Fearful Symmetry and did a google image search for the book cover, and you were one of the first hits!

    Just thought you’d like to know :)

  11. […] 22, 2009 by Lusty Reader Today’s the today! *bounces up and down* No, not the day the teddy bears have their picnic although I’ve had that song stuck in my head forever. But today is the day I am featured as a […]

Leave a Reply

