Friday Finds Oct. 2nd

Friday_FindsWhat great books did you hear about/discover this past week? Share with us at FRIDAY FINDS! Hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.

I was so happy when I discovered this meme earlier this year, finally I would have a way to keep track of my Wish List of books! Of course that means I actually have to participate and I’ve been bad. My purse, desk, and bedside table are littered with post-its, receipts, excel spreadsheet print outs from work all with book titles or authors names scribbled all over. And I always forget to bring them with me to the book store.

But this week I actually kept track of them online, so without further ado *sweeps curtain back majestically* heeeere they are, come on down!

beesandmist 

Of Bees and Mist by Erick Setiawan – I found this one on Twitter from lynnsherwood, and wanted it without even seeing the cover. Now that I have, I am attracted beyond belief. But I am concerned about the ending, is it happy? There seems to be a lot of angst, trials, and tribulations in the magical world created in this book, but I’m a little nervous about the resolution. Can anyone tell me if it has a Happily Ever After?

  

midnight_lonely_placeWhile browsing Royal Reviews a line in one of the posts caught my eye,  “When anyone ever asks me that difficult ‘who’s your favourite author’ question, I always answer Barbara Erskine.” It is impossible for me to answer that question! So if someone can do it with such ease and confidence? I simply MUST read something by this author. I’m ashamed to admit I have never read anything by Ms. Erskine so I must change that immediately! Also, many of her novels appear to be about time travel…no brainer for me, sign me up!

  

leviathan-by-Scott-WesterfeldLeviathan, by Scott Westerfield – What wish list of books could be complete without mentioning book pimpers extraordinaire: The Book Smugglers? Their review of Leviathan got my blood humming and my fingers itching. I know nothing about this “steampunk” business, but it seems to be a buzzword on the bookish interwebz, and then when I read the heroine was disguised as a boy my decision was made. I just ADORE this trope, starting with my childhood literary heroine Alanna of Trebond. Plus it’s only supposed to be a trilogy, I have officially banned myself from getting obsessed with long series. My wallet and bookshelves just cannot handle it.

 Anyone else have any good finds?

4 Responses

  1. I’m really curious about Leviathan. I want to read it too.

  2. I don’t know where you find the time, lady friend!

  3. […] Library loot: a surprise and an unrequited hug Posted on October 14, 2009 by Lusty Reader Lists, big and small, are a part of a book lovers existence. Am I right, or am I right? Post-its on my desk, receipts on my coffee table, napkins in my purse, half forgotten ones in the back of my poor tired brain, even flosting in my dreams, and occasionally I remember to put them on my blog… […]

Leave a Reply

