Blast from the past in my mailbox

It seemed like the perfect idea at the time…the year was 2004. The setting? My parents’ house. Anticipation sparkled in the air as I packed up my bedroom, readying for my final year of college. A 3 bedroom house off-campus awaited me and my two best friends.

We were going to par-tay. We were going to be the best hostesses, the comfiest place to watch movies, the best backyard beer pong…all the things a college senior could hope for.

But no room for books. Thinking back on it now I can’t remember hesitating at all. For shame, past self, for shame! I am berating myself heavily these days as I’ve been battling bouts of nostalgia for the 100+ books I donated to my library as I moved out of my parents’ house for good. 

Why oh why did I do that?!?! I know my parents didn’t ask me to and now I so so so wish I didn’t get rid of them. I certainly didn’t have much time to read in college, what with all the aforementioned partaying, beer pong, and movie watching…oh yeah and studying and class too, but reading has always been a precious hobby of mine.

I think maybe I thought I would “grow out of” romance novels and I didn’t want to bring them to school since I was still keeping it a secret at that time that I actually read those “bodice rippers.” Well not only did I NOT grow out of them but thankfully I am much more comfortable admitting to my love of this fabulous genre.

You know how when you have a song stuck in your head, it helps to hear the song? Especially when you can only remember two lines or just the chorus? When that happens to me I have to fire up youtube and find the song immediately. Well recently I have had certain scenes from old books stuck in my head. Like that time she escaped by bashing her captor over his head with a candlestick! Or when they found the treasure but it was teaming with cottonmouth snakes and they were afraid to reach in!

So I HAD to read these books to fully develop the scenes into stories; and also to see if I still loved these books as much as I remembered. If only I hadn’t given them away!

My library/libraries (I always search both DC and Northern VA library systems) didn’t have a few of them, so I found some used copies at a few different places including my favorite Better Than Chocolate Book Co. 

Since I just HAD to order them I’m participating in The Printed Page’s meme Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week (checked out library books don’t count, eBooks & audio books do). Warning: Mailbox Monday can lead to envy, toppling TBR piles and humongous wish lists.

I recently found these blasts from the past in my mailbox:

DSCF0472The Valentine Legacy, by Catherine Coulter

Black Silk, by Judith Ivory

Tiger’s Eye, by Karen Robards

My Lady Notorious, by Jo Beverley

Now we’ll just have to see if my fond memories of these old skool romances stand the test of time now that I’m no longer a teenager and a much more widely read romance novel lover.

12 Responses

  1. I’m not a huge romance reader but I totally get what you mean when you try and remember something and it drives you nuts until you figure it out. Happy Reading this week.

  2. Sagustocox: welcome and thanks for visiting!

    Zia: Whether you read a lot of books or a few there are always certain things that stick in your mind, I’m just lucky I remembered what books my memories belonged to. I hate it when I have a scene in my head but can’t recall the book or author!

  3. You’re right… mailbox mondays do lead to envy! ;)

  4. oooo i’m interested, may have to add a few to my book list!

  5. Ohhh fun – I just might have one or two of those tucked away on my shelves somewhere. :)

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

  6. Oooh, ouch. I put my books into storage….

  7. Sunshine: book envy, i has it!

    Chelsea: hope you enjoy :)

    Wendi: good for you for holding onto them, i will be tucking mine away forever more now

    heidenkind: that’s what slays me, i totally could have put them in boxes in my parents’ basement. sigh

  8. How funny. I did the exact same thing (throw away all my books prior to college) and now I’m a romance editor. Just so you know, there is a beautiful new edition of Judith Ivory in trade paperback. Gorgeous new cover.

    It remains one of my favorites.

    Happy Reading

    Carrie Feron

  9. chuck’s mom wanted me to recommend some books for his niece. i went combing through my memory and talked with my mother about all the books i used to love at that age and i found myself becoming so jealous of her experience. she was going to get to read some of my favorite books for the first time. UNFAIR! :)

    anywho, i totally get thinking about oldies and re-reading. and i did end up reading some of them again because of all the memories, so bonus! i am so bad at getting rid of books. i’m a book hoarded but i’ve already been cleared by chuck in this habit or i just might die! i am getting better at only keeping the ones i like. yayee for me!

  10. As you know Black Silk is the one I recommended. My Lady Nos- is good too. In fact,the whole series is great except for the one about the sister, that one was kind of boring. But the last one- Devilish was a great capper to the series.

Leave a Reply

