Friday Finds Oct 30th

Happy friday blogosphere! Today I’m participating in Friday Finds hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading. This is a great meme to track and share with others and new, or just new-to-you, great books you discovered recently!

his-at-night-125x200His At Night, by Sherry Thomas – I’ve heard positive things about Ms. Thomas around for a while but have yet to pick up anything by her. However, this book is definitely gonna make me take that next step. Thanks to KB for the heads up on this May 2010 release! I am OBSESSED with Scarlet Pimpernel/Bruce Wayne type stories, a guy who pretends to be super shallow, vain, lame, foppish, a dandy, and not the sharpest tool in the shed, but really he’s hiding his super sekrit save-the-world persona! Like Jude Deveraux’s The Raider, or even more old skool, does anyone remember Secrets of the Heart by Kasey Michaels?

accidental-medThe Accidental Best Seller, by Wendy Wax: When I saw this summary on J Kaye’s giveaway for this book I was hooked. Even though I’m “just a reader” I thought the fictional story line following 4 authors with a behind the scenes  look at the publishing industry sounded really fun!

 

 

That’s all for me folks! Back to reading J.D. Robb’s witch, magic, evil, and myth filled Ceremony in Death, a perfect way to gear up for Halloween. Hope you have a great All Hallow’s Eve!

10 Responses

  1. Hot damn, I am looking forward to His at Night like nobody’s business.

    I’ll admit – I’m a late passenger on the Sherry Thomas Awesometrain because I was not a fan of “Private Arrangements,” but “Not Quite a Husband” totally blew me away.

    And I also think a smart guy pretending to be stupid and foppish to be a great idea!

  2. Charlotte –

    I read Private Arrangments by Sherry Thomas and *hated* it. Then, because Kmont is an evil genius, I bought Not Quite A Husband, and gobbled it up and adored it. It’s in my top 10 favorite reads this year. Thomas makes some bold, bold choices in the book. It has one of those “Whoa! Oh no she di’in’t” moments in it.

    In fact, I was reading it at RWA, and pulled it all spine cracked and pitiful looking out of my bag and asked her to sign it. She was lovely about it. Especially since I was pretty public about the not loving PA.

    So I’d say, knowing you, that you would really, really love Not Quite A Husband. It’s got this glorious, lush, epic feel and it’s set in India, and the heroine and hero are just fabulous, sparking left and right off of each other. It was a true delight to read.

  3. I’ll watch for the Sherry Thomas book. I saw the Accidental Best Seller on J. Kaye’s blog as well.

  4. I’ve never read anything by Sherry Thomas but I have her book Not Quite a Husband on my shelf waiting to be read. =) But this book looks very interesting. And I agree, I also like those kind of guys. I’ll also be adding this book on m TBR list. Thanks for sharing your finds!

    Here are my Friday Finds for this week: Friday Finds (2)

  5. AnimeJune: May 2010 is so far away for His at Night! And I know a lot of people who don’t like the “hero in disguise” trope and get annoyed with the heroine/other people can’t figure it out, but it doesn’t bother me at all.

    Alayne: thanks for visiting! and you’re right, we readers aren’t “just” anything ;)

    Kati: Sounds like you and AnimeJune had similar experience and I trust y’all to point me in the right direction. And what a great story about RWA! That was seriously such an awesome event all together.

    Mary: too many books, too little time…

    Grain de Beaute: oh that darn to be read shelf, so many temping titles! those super hero is digueses are so much fun, i like it better when they pretend to be stupid and shallow, not necessary nerdy. i mean clark kent and peter parker are fine and all, but i prefer a scarlet pimpernel or a bruce wayne any day!

    guatami: thanks for visiting, happy friday!

  6. His At Night sounds really good – I’ll have to add that to my list and check out her other books too.

    I have The Accidental Bestseller on my list and can’t wait to get a chance to read it – it just sounds like a good book.

  7. “Just a reader?” Being a reader is nothing to be scoffed at. :-D These look like fun reads.

  8. Kati –> When I saw Sherry Thomas, I said I “liked” Private Arrangements (I have it a B- meh grade, but I did enjoy the writing style), only to have her say, “Really? Because your blog said you didn’t.”

    Yeah. I got a chance to explain myself later, though, hahahaha.

Leave a Reply

