Friday Finds (Nov 13)

friday_finds_buttonWhat great books did you hear about/discover this past week? Share with us at FRIDAY FINDS! Hosted by Miz B at Should Be Reading.

This was a good week for me catching up on reading blog posts and I was all over the twitterverse getting great recommendations and book discussions! So even though this is my first post this week at least I have some great finds to show for it!

AngelsbloodAngel’s Blood by Nalini Singh: I just finished the most recent book in her Psy/Changeling series this week and was depressed that it was over and I have to wait for the next one to come out. AND THEN I found out Ms. Singh started this new Guild Hunter series in March 2009.  It’s set in an alternate Manhattan about a feisty vampire hunter and a dangerously seductive archangel. There’s no way I could say no to that!

kushiels_careyKushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey: I’ve been on a paranormal/sci-fi/fantasy reading kick (see above find!) recently and when I saw this post on Smart Bitches, Trashy Books with the most recommended book in that genre being Kushiel’s Dart I knew I had to try it. First published in 2001 it’s set in an alternate universe modeled after medieval Earth. We follow protagonist Phedre as she is abandoned by her parents to indentured servitude, learning the arts of pleasure and pain with a larger political arc and hints of adventure in her future.

 

Resurection.mechResurrection, by Tucker Malarkey: This was recommended on twitter by S. Krishna as I had a hankering for an adventurous archaeological find story, a la King Tut’s Tomb or National Treasure type thing. From summary: ” Set in Egypt just after WWII, the novel fictionalizes the discovery of the Gnostic gospels, early Christian writings whose explosive intimations.”

Have a happy weekend y’all!

6 Responses

  1. “Resurrection” looks fantastic! I am definitely going to have to add that one to my list.

  2. Charlotte – You’ll love Angel’s Blood. The hero is amazing. So ruthless and yet HAWT!

    I’ll be VERY interested to see what you think of Kushiel’s Dart. I read it on a dare last year with CJ (she read book one of the Black Jewels trilogy) and I read KD. It was an interesting book, but veeeeery slow going in the beginning. Fair warning. Stick with it, but don’t expect to immerse immediately. At least, I didn’t. CJ loves the book though and counts it among her favorites. We read them in Nov/Dec of last year, if you want to check out our thoughts on our blogs. ;o)

    Enjoy!

  3. Resurrection sounds fascinating!

  4. I think I really, really need to get Angel’s Blood. And Kushiel’s Dart.

  5. ooh… i want to read kushiel’s dart now..

  6. Jacqueline Carey is one of Thea’s favorite authors. She loves the Kushiel books. She dared me to read Kushiel’s dart but it wasn’t really my cup of tea, although I was in awe at the world building. Hope you will like it!

    Angels’ Blood is AWESOME. Top 10 material

Leave a Reply

