November 2009 reading in review

Good day unto thee, blogosphere! This morn finds me full of good will and cheer, just in a splendid mood. Maybe due to my impressive amount of reading last month? I read 17 total books! (Two of which were 900+ pages)

This achievement was greatly helped by two long plane rides and a patient hubby and mutt. Just with all that travel time I was able to read 6 books on those trips alone! Hubby went a few nights without real dinners and the mutt waited patiently for a few walks, all to assist in quenching my lust for reading. And that lust? Was DEFINITELY quenched! All A and B reads this month, such an excellent reading streak with 5 historical romance, 6 paranormal romance, 3 YA fantasy, 2 epic/high fantasy, and 1 contemporary romantic suspense.

I’m going to organize this two ways because I couldn’t make up my mind which was better. I read so many series last month but liked some books in the series more than others.

Verily I bestow unto thee a list, simply in order of which I liked best:

November 2009

  1. Pleasure for Pleasure, Eloisa James A+
  2. Branded by Fire (6th Psy/Changeling series), Nalini Sing A+
  3. Mine to Possess (4th Psy/Changeling series), Nalini Singh A
  4. Not Quite a Husband, Sherry Thomas A-
  5. Caressed by Ice (3rd Psy/Changing series), Nalini Singh A-
  6. Hostage to Pleasure (5th Psy/Changeling series, Nalini Singh A-
  7. The Amber Spyglass, Philip Pullman A-
  8. Kushiel’s Chosen, Jacqueline Carey A-
  9. Angel’s Blood, Nalini Singh A-
  10. The Golden Compass, Philip Pullman B+
  11. The Subtle Knife, Philip Pullman B+
  12. Blaze of Memory (7th Psy/Changeling series), Nalini Singh B+
  13. Devil’s Bride, Stephanie Laurens re-read B+
  14. Kushiel’s Dart, Jacqueline Carey B
  15. The Taming of the Duke, Eloisa James B-
  16. The Dangers of Deceiving a Viscount, Julia London B-
  17. Burn, by Linda Howard B-

Shouldst thou prefer grouping by series, the below list is for thine eyes:

  • The Taming of the Duke, (Essex Sisters Book 3) Eloisa James B-
  • Pleasure for Pleasure, (Essex Sisters Book 4) Eloisa James A+
  • Caressed by Ice (3rd Psy/Changing series), Nalini Singh A-
  • Mine to Possess (4th Psy/Changeling series), Nalini Singh A
  • Hostage to Pleasure (5th Psy/Changeling series, Nalini Singh A-
  • Branded by Fire (6th Psy/Changeling series), Nalini Sing A+
  • Blaze of Memory (7th Psy/Changeling series), Nalini Singh B+
  • The Golden Compass, (His Dark Materials Book 1) Philip Pullman B+
  • The Subtle Knife, (His Dark Materials Book 2) Philip Pullman B+
  • The Amber Spyglass, (His Dark Materials Book 3) Philip Pullman A-
  • Kushiel’s Dart, (Kushiel’s Legacy Book 1) Jacqueline Carey B
  • Kushiel’s Chosen, (Kushiel’s Legacy Book 2) Jacqueline Carey A-
  • Kushiel’s Avatar, Kushiel’s Legacy Book 3, currently reading

Phew I read soooo many fantasy books, its amazing I kept all those worlds straight in my mind! Between psychic beings and shapeshifters in the year 2080 in San Francisco and New York, to an alternate Oxford where everyone has an animal familiar as part of their soul and travels by air balloons and zeppelins, to a medieval completely fantasy world where people are descended from Angels and a Jesus type figure, yet honor them through sex.

I will be writing several reviews soon, especially for the Kushiel’s Legacy books as those have been a hot topic in my twitter discussions, so I want to pontificate on them properly!

 

7 Responses

  1. I see you are loving the Nalini :D Nice reading list! Many lusty reads there.

  2. Hi KB! I just tore through her backlist. I can’t believe in 2 short months I went from not having read anything by her, to reading *everything* Now I’m sad there is no more left and I’m stuck with the rest of the masses of her fans, salivating for her next release!

  3. hmm.. i told myself i’d never start another series that wasn’t completely written yet, because the waiting for the next book is too hard…..!

  4. Alice: seriously that is an AWESOME rule, it is wayyy too freaking annoying to wait for the next one, especially in cliffhanger series!

  5. Wow! I am impressed.

    I plan to read Kushiel’s Dart… some day….

  6. Based on the recommendation by a dear bloggy friend, I am going to tackle Kushiel’s Dart. I stumbled across your page while looking for reviews. Love love love your site!

  7. […] to last December, or even last month this is a pretty weak showing. Although I logged in plenty of hours at airport gates and delayed […]

Leave a Reply

