Library Loot: crossing state lines

It is amazing, for a girl (that would be moi) who has sworn off vampire books (except for the Sookie Stackhouse ones, and I am perilously close to saying sayonara to those too) I am absolutely bewitched, enthralled, and beguiled by Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series.

So much so that in order to get the first three books in the series I crossed state lines!!!!

*ahem*

Ok that is not that unusual considering I can practically walk between DC, VA, and MD, or at least take a 20 minute metro ride to each. But for a lusty reader it is the best-case-scenario, with a DC driver’s license you can get a library card in any of the three states! So far I only have ones for DC and VA (where I live and work respectively) but pretty soon I expect the day to come when the Maryland library system just outside DC has the next book in a series that I just must get my mitts on immediately.

For this week’s library loot I present the following:

  • Vampire Academy (Book 1), by Richelle Mead (link to website with all books here)
  • Frostbite (Book 2)
  • Shadow Kiss (Book 3)
  • Captive Bride, by Johanna Lindsey (not sure if this counts for library loot, but it was 50 cents on the rack by check out. although ms. lindsey is one of my fave authors of all time i’d never read nor heard of this one before!)

I feel very lucky to live in an area with access to three library systems, but honestly I would settle for one absolutely amazing one. The DC system is absolutely abysmal.

How bout you? How far would you go to get a book you really wanted?

Library loot is a weekly meme hosted by Eva and Marg.

12 Responses

  1. Oh well! Better luck next time. :) My post is here.

  2. I’ve actually gone pretty far in the Massachusetts Library System.

  3. Oh, you probably don’t want to hear this, but in the great state of Ohio we don’t have to go for books. Nope, we order them up and they’re delivered to us. I just have to step across the street and pick it up. For free. F-R-E-E. So, needless to say, I’ve gotten a few things from around the state. I’d say the farthest away was Cleveland.

  4. I haven’t read Richelle Mead because I don’t care for vampire stuff much – maybe I should try one.
    Hope the Pink Carnation is proving a good read as I have that in my loot this week.

  5. pussreboots: now i just have to find the 4th book in the series somewhere…

    dmbosstone: that’s what libraries are for, you gotta use use use them as much as possible, take as much from them as you can! but always return your books of course ;)

    Phyl: color me extremely jealous *turning green* your library delivers books to you? ive heard of a netflix type program for books, is that similar? but you have to pay for that.

    Cat: Richelle Mead has acutally written THREE OTHER SERIES all for adults. i haven’t read any of them yet, but they are all paranormals, i don’t think they have vampires. i have her Succubus Blues books on hold

  6. I’ve never crossed state lines to get a book. But I have resorted to buying books off eBay (the cheapest way to go for those rare ones).

  7. Thanks Charlotte……..I shall take a deep breath and add a RM to my next lot of loot.

  8. No, it’s just basic Inter-Library Loan (ILL). Super Librarian Wendy will mention her ILL dept. sometimes. If my local library doesn’t have a book I must have, I can go to the Librarian’s desk & they will order the book for me.

  9. Oooh, I’m interested in these…

    I bought ALL the Sookie books. God, I’m an idiot.

  10. In order to cross state lines here, I would have to travel approximately 5 hours, so that sound pretty impressive to me!

    One of these days I will get around to reading Richelle Mead.

  11. Those Mead books sure looks read :)
    I have read some Lindsey and I did like them, so enjoy that one.. do not know if I have heard of it or read it though

  12. There is no distance that I wouldn’t cross in order to get my hands on a book I desire. But thanks to the good ole internet, that’s often not required, and I can usually get whatever I want within 48 hours via amazon or bn.com. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

