February 2010 Reading List and a personal rant

I’m not the best guess-timater. Like sometimes when I’m putting statistics together at work it’s not until I get to the very end and I see the result, that I go, “Really?! I didn’t think it would be that high!” Or I pick a mixing bowl out and it’s only when I’ve already added 95% of the ingredients that I realize it’s way too small and they won’t all fit.

That’s what happened with this months reading list, as I typed them up yesterday I was totally shocked at how many books I read in February.

I expected it to be half as much and that’s where the personal rant comes in. I’ve worked 11 hour days or more at my recruiting job for the past 3 weeks. I haven’t cooked dinner in 3 weeks and I haven’t been home before 9pm in 3 weeks. The 2 hour commute each day definitely helped with my reading during that time, but overall it’s been a tough three weeks!

 Hubby is convinced I’ll get fired if I ever talk about my job on here (I did slip one TMI post about crazy candidates and employees by him!) but I’m totally overwhelmed. As much as I love my job, love being all nosey and doing interviews, making job offers, filling positions with the *right* person who I totally picked and making managers happy here, and just networking and making connections with people, I’m definitely suffering with all these 55-60 hour work weeks.

And there isn’t an end in sight, we used to have two recruiters in my office, but due to the economy our hiring slowed down and when the other one left for grad school last year they decided not to replace her. Now things are picking up again BIG TIME. All the positions that were put on hold in 2008-2009 were all approved at once at the beginning of this year and my head is about to explode just looking at the numbers that I am singlehandedly supposed to hire all by myself in the next few months.

Right now we are in the middle of our Spring on campus recruiting with information sessions, presentations, career fairs and interviews at 25 different schools. I coordinate it all and travel to some.

*heaving huge sigh* I just had to vent a little. Because not only are hubby, the mutt, and my TBR getting neglected but so is this here little lusty reading blog. And if I have a choice between reading a book, or blogging or blog hopping I will totally read a book.

So that is why I haven’t been around much, won’t be in the future, but still have a pretty respectable February reading list: 9 books total, made up of 1 YA fantasy, 1 contemporary horror/fantasy, 1 contemp romance, 5 historical romance, and 1 paranormal.

February 2010

  1. Leviathan, Scott Westerfield A-
  2. Don’t Tempt Me, Loretta Chase, B+
  3. Prince Charming, Julie Garwood B+ (possibly unfair weighted or curved grade as it was one of the first romances I ever read and holds fond old skool memories)
  4. The Lost Lord, Mary Joe Putney B
  5. The Secret History of the Pink Carnation, Laruen Willig B
  6. Blue Eyed Devil, Lisa Kleypas B- (Her contemporaries just really don’t work nearly as well for me as her historicals.)
  7. Love Letters from a Duke, Elizabeth Boyle B-
  8. Succubus Blues, Richelle Mead C+
  9. Under the Dome, Stephen King DNF
9 Responses

  1. The fear of getting dooced is always a risk but at least you aren’t bad talking your co-workers.

  2. Good list!
    Good for you using your commute time wisely. My commute time is my reading time. I usually don’t read much any other time-too busy.
    Grr for crazy stressful job. Hopefully you get more help!

  3. I skip the work-talk too.

    Well, except for bathroom occurrences.

    It’s fair game when there’s no faces involved, right?

  4. Ouch! Hopefully your work schedule will lessen up soon!

  5. Dmbosstone: luckily i love my coworkers, but i could talk some serious shit about many of the idiotic candidates i meet!

    Linda: commuting is a nice private time, i feel like if im at home i should be doing something else more…useful.

    LiLu: hopefully i would never recognize anyone you talk about from your descriptions of their non-face regions!

    katiebabs: thanks sweets, it’s definitely harder when there is no end in sight. maybe in 6 months or so it will lessen :(

  6. Hey there, LR. Sorry to hear about work. Seems for a lot of people it’s feast or famine on the job these days. Meanwhile, as our Super Librarian friend would say, blogging should be fun, not an obligation. Do it when you feel like it! I have my favorite blogs in a reader so I don’t have to spend time looking for new blog content. As for myself, I could probably blog every day with all the stuff in my head, but since that would seriously cut into my reading or sewing time, it doesn’t get done. Oh well. Hang in there. Am sending good thoughts your way!

  7. Oh, and I forgot to tell you that thanks to your recommendation I’m currently reading Garwood’s Prince Charming. What a funny, fun book. Thanks for that!

  8. So you’re a head hunter, then?

    I’m looking for a job. ;)

  9. Hang in there, girlie! I can definitely relate–my work world has been crazy busy lately too, spring sports are starting back up, both my kids have bdays this month, etc. etc. I’ve been diving in to the world of Kristan Higgins when time allows, and barely surfacing to do my normal blogsurfing as well. Rest assured, that when life does slow down for you and when you have a little more time for your page, we’ll all still be here, waiting to hear about those lusty bits:) Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

