Future paranormal release excerpts and giveaway winner

It’s Lent and my Catholic guilt definitely extends to my recent abandonment of my blog, so despite the 60 hour work weeks and lack of a personal life I’m forcing myself to write ONE post a week. And this one is full of good news, well at least for 2 people: a lucky winner from my giveaway….and for me as I found some excerpts of upcoming series releases I’m highly anticipating!

First things first, from www.random.org/ the winner of Jill Marie Landis’ new book Heart of Stone is…

AMY!!!

Congrats, lady, please email me your snail mail address!

So…moving on from an inspy-Christian-Western-historical-romance to vampires, telepaths, boarding school, Russia, psychics, shapeshifting Changelings and futuristic worlds is an odd segue, but no one can argue that my reading tastes aren’t eclectic! 

Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series totally grew on me (i have a half written blog about how the first book REALLY didn’t work for me but i already had the second from the library and it was a 3 day weekend so I read it for the heck of it anyway and i’m SO GLAD i did, Rose Hathaway is so fabulously cool *ahem* i should really finish writing that blog post huh? i def have a lot to say ) ANWAYS I’m very excited for the release of the fifth book in the series Spirit Bound this May. Check out the summary below and you can find the excerpt here. I’ve already read it 4 times in anticipation! (obviously this is all slightly spoiler-y if you haven’t read the previous books!)

Dimitri gave Rose the ultimate choice. But she chose wrong…

After a long and heartbreaking journey to Dimitri’s birthplace in Siberia, Rose Hathaway has finally returned to St. Vladimir’s—and to her best friend, Lissa. It is nearly graduation, and the girls can’t wait for their real lives beyond the Academy’s iron gates to begin. But Rose’s heart still aches for Dimitri, and he’s out there, somewhere.

She failed to kill him when she had the chance. And now her worst fears are about to come true. Dimitri has tasted her blood, and she knows in her heart that he is hunting her. And if Rose won’t join him, he won’t rest until he’s silenced her…forever.

Cue the *DUN DUN DUNNNN* music!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Secondly, I’m still going strong with the Sookie Stackhouse series, but if her romantic life doesn’t get straightened out soon…well I can’t say I’ll be looking forward to the books quite as much. I am just not a love triangle-unresolved-romance type of reader. It repels me like lemon juice does to fairies *fist-bump to other Sookie lovers for that inside joke*

Book 10, Dead in the Family is released May 4th. As an Eric+Sookie fan I highly enjoyed the excerpt but also really hope that we learn more about Sookie’s cousin’s secret baby who is also a telepath and he was totally skipped over in the last book! Summary below:

After enduring torture and the loss of loved ones during the brief but deadly Faery War, Sookie Stackhouse is hurt and she’s angry. Just about the only bright spot in her life is the love she thinks she feels for vampire Eric Northman. But he’s under scrutiny by the new Vampire King because of their relationship. And as the political implications of the Shifters coming out are beginning to be felt, Sookie’s connection to the Shreveport pack draws her into the debate. Worst of all, though the door to Faery has been closed, there are still some Fae on the human side-and one of them is angry at Sookie. Very, very angry…

I think that calls for more DUN DUN DUNNN music, these saummaries really don’t mess around with leaving you on the edge!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Last but DEFINITELY not least is *tamping my squeeing fangirl side down* Nalini Singh’s July 2010 release Bonds of Justice, 8th in her Psy/Changeling series. Now I have to be totally honest that after reading the first 7 books in the series I noticed a personal proclivity towards the books with at least one Changeling as part of the couple, and the 6th book with TWO changeling’s finding true love? *fanning self* well no WONDER Branded by Fire was one of my top reads in 2009!

But Bonds of Justice follows a character from a previous book, Max who’s in Enforcement and has slightly more psychic skills than other average humans, and a new type of Psy, a J-Psy (j for judicial? something?), who’s working with him on a case.

Totally spoiler free (this series is a slow-buildup with different H/H each book so there are rarely spoilers) summary below and excerpt here.

Max Shannon is a good cop, one of the best in New York Enforcement. Born with a natural shield that protects him against Psy mental invasions, he knows he has little chance of advancement within the Psy- dominated power structure. The last case he expects to be assigned to is that of a murderer targeting a Psy Councilor’s closest advisors. And the last woman he expects to compel him in the most sensual of ways is a Psy on the verge of catastrophic mental fracture.

I just love finding excerpts, it makes the wait for the next release just a teensy bit easier to bear. What about you, do you like reading excerpts months before a book comes out, or is it more frustrating or too spoilerish?

 

7 Responses

  1. I’m ready to get back to some Sookie. I’m been missing my Bon Temps buddies.

  2. FV: i love talking about book characters like they’re my friends. im all, “oh my gosh jason is soo selfish and i miss claudette!” i do the same thing with tv characters too ;)

  3. I used to love reading excerpts, but for some reason I stopped completely. I’d just rather read the whole book now.

  4. Ack! I’ve fallen behind on both the VA and Psy-Changeling series, and have got to catch up.

    Can’t wait for the new Sookie, especially after the events of the last book!

  5. heidenkind: i know, excerpts are such a tease!

    Renee: i dunno, if you’re behind that at least means you have more to read before the next new release comes out. thats why i love finding new to me series that already have quite a few in the series published, catching up back to back is the best part!

  6. You have no idea how happy this post made me to read! I’m always wanking about long days, being tired and not enough hours in the day. I know there are lots of working women out there so I always feel like I’m the dweeb who just can’t get it all done. My blog has suffered horribly since November. I’ve been so sporadic.

  7. I’ve been in the same boat with the continuation of the Sookie Stackhouse Series, though I still love it!

Leave a Reply

