March 2010 lusty reading list

Hey peeps, yes I DO exist! Now don’t faint like little red in that M&M commercial, I’m no Santa, but my existence has similarly been called into question recently.

This will be brief but COME BACK TOMORROW FOR A BIGGER ONE (twss). What with the 60 hour work weeks I haven’t written any posts or commented on any of your blogs but I’ve been working on a few comeback posts in bits and pieces and will be dedicating some time to cleaning out my Google Reader, so look for all that on the flip side.

In the mean time, busy as I’ve been, I at least didn’t slack on the reading front!

March 2010

Three Cups of Tea, Greg Mortenson A (highly recommend, occasionally read more like a news article and there was room for improvement, but one of the best non-fiction books I’ve read in a LONG TIME)

Honor’s Splendour, Julia Garwood A- (really not the greatest book, but the old skool writing and plot line, the extra scenes making it a longer read, and over-the-top-without-apologizing-fot-it alpha hero impervious to pain, cold, hunger etc really tickled my fancy.)

In for a Penny, Rose Lerner A- (pretty much lived up to the hype. I loved this book, but didn’t LOVE love it.)

The Rogue, Celeste Bradley re-read (VERY racy sex scenes, forgot about that, but the love story didn’t quite work as well for me.)

Sunshine, Robin McKinley B- (in terms of unique characters, plot and worldbuilding Sunshine gets an A, but for pacing, plot holes, hanging threads, and narrative style it was a C- for meeting my personal preferences. I was frustrated a lot.)

Heart Of Stone, Jill Marie Landis B- (my full review here)

Suddenly You, Lisa Kleypas C+ (I’m usually a slave for Kleypas historicals, and the premise and first scenes of this book were so amazing, but went downhill from there for me.)

This Heart of Mine, SEP C+ (ew, a few quirks really turned me off. I still love SEP and the book as a whole was fun, but little bits that I can’t share without spoilers squicked me out)

Ashes in the Wind, Kathleen Woodiwiss C- (the romance started way too late for me, the Hero spent the first half of the book married to the Heroines cousin and living in the same house with her whole family!)

7 Responses

  1. But…but…but the bathtub scene in Ashes in the Wind? Where they’re fighting and then they end up having fantastic angry sex? No?

    SIGH. OK. Well, I loved it. ;)

  2. Kati: no there WERE some great scenes, and of course, my fave trope ever, the heroine being disguised as a boy, but i was so squicked out by him bring married to and having sex with her cousin in the next room for half the book. sadly i just couldn’t get past that part

  3. She’s alive!

    And reading always trumps blogging. Don’t ever stop reading!

    Ashes in the Wind. Read that at least 28-29 years ago. Don’t remember it much. Don’t think I’ll re-read it either.

  4. Seems like everyone loves “Three Cups of Tea.” It didn’t appeal to me initially, but I’ve heard so many good things about it, that I suppose it’s time to give it a whirl!

  5. i’ve been contemplating three cups of tea as well…. might hafta try it. hope you get some relaxy soon :)

  6. Phyl: i dont think i could ever stop reading, i feel so out of whak if i don’t have a book in my purse at all times!

    Suburban Sweetheart and Beckyyyyy: i resisted 3 Cups of Tea, sorta out of spite, sometimes i don’t like to read things that everyone else LOVES, like Twilight, just to go against the grain. But I’m so glad I did! The book definitely had it’s flaws, but I heard he really improved on them in his second book Schools Into Stones, which I hope to read soon.

  7. I’m glad to hear you liked Three Cups of Tea. I may read that one over the summer with my teen. I think there’s even a YA version of the book available.

    Another A for In For A Penny !! I have to check that one out!

    I totally agree with you about Sunshine. It is an amazing book, but I also had issues with the pacing… especially in the middle. The first and last 1/3s of the book were fantastic… the middle kind of meh.

Leave a Reply

