April 2010 reading list

Good morning, y’all! April was quite a mixed reading month for me, not only did I read a lot of contemporaries (which is très unusual for me) but I had quite a few books I really disliked (also rarely happens now that i do more research before reading).

I read 12 new-to-me books consisting of 6 contemporary romance, 3 chick lit/women’s fic, 1 YA, 1 historical romance, and 1 historical fiction:

  1. Lead Me On, Victoria Dahl A (new favorite! will def be on my top 10 list this yer!)
  2. Welcome to Temptation, Jennifer Cruise A (first Cruise book I’ve ever loved, now i get what y’all are talking about)
  3. Undomestic Kitchen Goddess, Sophie Kinsella A-
  4. Too Good to be True, Kristan Higgins B+
  5. Girl with the Mermaid Hair, Delia Ephron B+
  6. Deep Dish, Mary Kay Andrews B-
  7. Because You’re Mine, Lisa Kleypas B-
  8. It Had To Be You, SEP C+
  9. Silent As The Grave, Deanna Raybourne C (um i was totally expecting a historical romance! very disappointed there, also thought the mystery plot line and character development were WAY too drawn out, and Brisbane was a little too over the top for me. im totally missing how great this series is, aren’t i? what’s wrong with me?)
  10. The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder, Rebecca Wells C (stick to the Ya Ya Sisterhood books…while I loved the 1960-80s Southern setting and watching Calla Lily grow, her love interest acts unforgivably and I didn’t respect her reaction)
  11. Lucky Streak, Carly Phillips C
  12. Hot Stuff, Carly Phillips D-

I’m hoping to write some posts about the best and worst contemporaries I read last month. Right after I finish reading all of Victoria Dahl’s backlist I just bought ;)

ETA: oopsie forgot to mention i had quite a few re-reads also – Kleypas’ It Happened One Autumn. i last read it in September! hmm maybe i should add that to my favorite books if i re-read it so often? Also re-read Celeste Bradley’s The Spy and i started re-reading Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series for the first time since i discovered them last year. They are EVEN BETTER the second time around!

ALSO – Don’t forget my blog birthday giveaway ends tonight at midnight, so make sure to comment on that post to enter before then!

7 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lusty Reader, Stacy ~. Stacy ~ said: RT @lustyreader New Post: April Reading List with one Top 10 best new read and one of the WORST so far this year! http://tinyurl.com/2ddgw4w […]

  2. Isn’t Lead Me On soooo good? That was my first Dahl and I lurved it :)

  3. Mandi: even though its been weeks since i read LEAD ME ON i keep thinking about certain scenes!

    good lord i ADORED that book! my first (and only other) Dahl was Start Me Up which i thought was just…ok. But i am now happily counted among her legions of fangirls :)

  4. Love Victoria Dahl. The Tumble Creek series is awesome… Start Me Up was my fave. I just liked the characters in that a lot better than the others…but all the characters in this series are fun and the books are excellent. And…might I mention that the, ahem, love scenes,ahem, are smokin’ hot!

  5. Jennifer: I haven’t quite gotten all of Victoria Dahl’s backlist quite yet, but im working on it! Regarding the love scenes…yeah I REALLY want to try her Wicket West e-book!

  6. Victoria Dahl any relation to Roald? I need some good new books… I’m reminded of this every time you post a reading list!

  7. […] I read it & source: I read my first, and only, Kristin Higgins book  in April and really liked it so when FSB Associates contacted me with a review copy I jumped at the […]

Leave a Reply

