Library loot: I’ve got a Fever

Even though I recently shared my distasteful history with our inner city libraries, I can’t just NOT GO to the library! I mean, I read 156 books last year, there is no way I could afford to buy that many. But I am lucky(?) enough to work in Northern Virginia so I can enjoy their nice suburban 0nes. In fact I’ve been to the library twice in the past 3 days as I’ve had a couple of holds come through.

I put the whole KMM Fever series on hold, but OF COURSE the lady(man?) who has the first book the series is taking forever to return it. Quel irony that the 2nd and 3rd books in the series are available but whoever has the first one is just sitting on it for over a month, n’est-ce pas?

I was getting kinda worked up about this (in case you can’t tell) but my grousing and fuming was interrupted by a sliver of hope – maybe the library has it is Large Print? I’ve done this before in other Extreme Circumstances where imusthavebookNOW and was thrilled to find Darkfever was indeed in the LP section!

This series came recommended by Smexy Mandi following my disillusionment of long series as the Fever series clocks in at 4 published and the 5th and final coming out this December. I can also now happily add Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series to my list of “approved length” series as I just found out it’s “only” going to be 6 long with the final one coming out this year too!

But of course my library loot didn’t end there, check out my great stack this week (catching the last rays of sun yesterday on our balcony when I came home): 

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen: sisters, magic, the South, and family ties all sound like things I want to read about! This is an author I have seen good things about all over the place, so I have her other books on hold too.

Going Too Far, Jennifer Echols: I’m reading this one first, sorry Fever series! But the hype and promise of this book is too good to ignore!

Twenties Girl, Sophie Kinsella: caught my eye on the new release shelf, even though it’s been out for a year, but Kinsella is a reliable, likeable popcorn/lighthearted read for me.

Darkfever, Bloodfever, Faefever, by Karen Marie Moning: saving these for the weekend so I can read about MacKayla’s discovery she is no ordinary 21st century woman all in a row.

Library Loot is a weekly meme host by Marg and Eva.

18 Responses

  1. Twenties Girl was ADORABLE.

    I think you’ll like it :)

  2. Garden Spells–I LOVE that book! Short and easy to read. So lyrical.

    There is amazing loot to be had in large print. Trust Phyl on this.

    QBFF T. has been raving about the Darkfever series and I loved Moning’s highlander books. I’ve been waiting until the final book was published to read them all together. I am too old to remember details when books come out too far apart, lol.

  3. DCPrincess: Kinsella’s great, Can You Keep a Secret is prob my fave, and ive read all of her books except 20s Girl!

    Phyl: i know, the LP section of my library is almost ALL romance and other genre fiction. browsing that section is too tempting, but the books are too big for me to get too many at a time!

  4. Going Too Far was such a wonderful read! I am on the Echols bandwagon.

  5. 156 Books! Holy pages!

  6. So glad you scored the Fever series. You will not be disappointed. Full of awesome and then some!

  7. Ooh. Read them in the order of that stack too! :) I loved GARDEN SPELLS. It was my first Allen book. I suggest moving right on to THE SUGAR QUEEN by her as it’s my favorite.

    And I’m thinking you’ll love GOING TOO FAR as well.

  8. I borrowed Twenties Girl from a friend and promptly loaned to another friend. Wonder if I’ll get it back. Depending on your review I might have to force my friend to give it back!

  9. KB: i see the Echols bandwagon on the horizon, we’ll see if i decide to get on!

    DMBoss: i know, cah-razy right!?

    FixVix: i heard so much great stuff about them for ages, but never got them because i thought, “oh no, another long PNR series” and was not interested in getting tangled up in another. but only 5 books? that i can handle!

    Angie: i know, your posts were one of the reasons i wanted to read Allen! im very very excited about all my loot this week.

    Linda: i get scared loaning my precious baby books out! ill let you know how 20s Girl is

  10. Do you plan on reading any of the new Carina Press books?? I just found out about them today, I think you can buy them from booksonboard.com. They seem to have a lot of new releases coming out for this summer, it’s gonna be so hard to decide what to read! Agh!

  11. I loved Garden Spells — super cute and quick read :)

  12. I’ve read five of these books and they were all really, really good! Enjoy the Fever series. :)

  13. I haven’t had the chance to read the Fever series, I have read Moning’s Highlander series and I love it!!! here is my Library Loot for the week! Here

    Happy Reading!!!

  14. I haven’t read any of those, but I love getting addicted to a new series! :D

  15. Great choices!!! Garden Spells and Twenties Girls are a wonderful selection.

  16. Yay – Fever is so awesome. You must read so we can be tortured together until Dec ;)

  17. Awesome books, Going too far was great, hope you’re loving it :)

  18. […] also dedicating many many hours to reading Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series as I have the first three sitting in a nice stack on my nightstand right now. I’m excited to glom them all in a row, frantically search for […]

Leave a Reply

