Mid year review blitz and home alone

A of all, it’s June! How can the year be half over?

B of all, no I’m not reading Home Alone the book, I don’t think there even is one. And even though it’s one of my favorite movies of all time I don’t think a book version could compare to the awesomely entertaining visuals of that movie!

So back to A. I can’t believe the year is half over already. I’m still writing 2009 as a date…ok let’s be honest sometimes even 2008. (*sidenote* I just hired someone in my HR database with a birthdate of 1990!!! If I’m still working as a recruiter in 10 years and hire someone born in the new millenium? I’ll just want to shrivel up and die right then and there)

So far this year I’ve read 61 books. This includes re-reads. I’m not sure where that puts me on track for the rest of the year because I typically get a lot of reading done around holidays and vacations with all the travel time. So I think I should still get close to the 156 I read last year.

Not only is 61 a pretty good number for 6 months of reading, but another not-quite-so-good number is 3. I’ve only written THREE reviews since January. *hanging head in shame*

I love the blog world for it’s discussions  on books and community of similar tastes, but I just don’t like writing reviews. I just like to read and enjoy the book and not think too much about it or analyze it.

But I still want to TALK about it and I think review posts are a good way to initiate that. I’m still NEVER going to be a “reviewer,” but I have about 10 post drafts half written and I’m going to try to get better about finishing them and hitting the “publish button.”

Which brings us to B. I’m home alone for the weekend as hubby’s at ANOTHER bachelor party (he just got back from Vegas 2 weeks ago and will now be in NYC. Yes we have 6 weddings of good friends in the next year!) As much as I love him and his cute-currently-bearded-face, I do so enjoy when he’s out of town so I can watch Enchanted  and 17 Again and Real Housewives of… and read romance novels and blog all to my heart’s content.

This weekend I’m going to try and put together a mid-year review blitz including my thoughts and reactions on:

  • Lead Me On, by Victoria Dahl
  • Hot Stuff, by Carly Phillips
  • Mistress by Mistake, by Maggie Robinson
  • and Going Too Far, by Jennifer Echols

If I’m really motivated I might discuss a few more…we shall see.

I’m also dedicating many many hours to reading Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series as I have the first three sitting in a nice stack on my nightstand right now. I’m excited to glom them all in a row, frantically search for the 4th (dangit, still on hold at the lib!) and then wait in agony with the rest of y’all for the final book in the series to come out later this year.

Hope the rest of you have fun weekends planned too!

6 Responses

  1. I’m about 40% of the way through Mistress by Mistake right now. It is totally not what I expected. I can’t wait to hear what you think. So far, I like it.

  2. Phyl: sadly MbM did not work for me. ive seen both ends of the spectrum in terms of peoples’ reactions towards it, but the set up and character motivations and then actions did not make sense to me.

  3. I’ve started posting my thoughts on a book rather than a review. Although I forget and call it a review. That way you can share your thoughts and not feel like you need to be a reviewer.

  4. Good luck with the Fever series! I can’t wait to hear what you thought of Going Too Far.

  5. i can’t seem to get any satisfactory reading done unless i’m taking a trip that involves flying, or going on vacation to somewhere with a beach. it’s ridiculous.

  6. Linda: good point, more than analyzing the book i just want to dusciss it!

    heidenkind: oh we have lots and ltos to talk about lady!

    Alice: i know, something about being away from home lets me concentrate on reading. less errands, social life, distractions, etc…

Leave a Reply

