Library loot: all the pretty little covers

Instead of the stacks I usually make in my library loot posts I just HAD to share these adorbs covers with you. Except Beauty, that is a hideous one, n’est-ce pas? But it’s the only cover my library had!

The Sugar Queen, by Sarah Addison Allen – This is her second book, I read her first one (Garden Spells, they are both standalone novels) last week and fell in love with her characters, the deft way she handled multiple points of view, and the hints of magic in their lives. I also have her recently released third book on hold at the lib too!

Stay, by Allie Larkin – ok the author’s name sounds sooo familiar to me. I facebooked her, googled her, thought maybe I went to college with her??? nada. Just a familiar name I guess, but it drove me crazy. Anywhoosits I read a review of this book in People magazine as a Great Read for Animal Lovers and a Feel Good Book. What an appealing description for my preferences! Also it has a german shepard on the cover and I had 2 (not black ones) growing up. Also it looks a little like my mutt, just 100 lbs bigger. So of COURSE I have to read this :)

Gimme A Call, by Sarah Mlynowski – who posted about this one? was it you? I’m sure I heard about it on someone’s blog but I can’t remember where! i was intrigued by Reeder Read’s review. I thought the premise was really cute, senior year Devi just got dumped by her boyfriend of 4 years, and she had slowly lost all of her friends through high school too. When she drops her phone into the mall fountain after wishing she could change her high school experience the ONLY person the phone will call is her freshman year self. When she tries to fix/change the past/future hijinks, temporary tragedy, and life lessons ensue!

Beauty, by Robin McKinley – ok I only just “liked” Sunshine, which is the McKinley book people rave over, so I want to try more by her to see if I can find one of her stories that would be a better fit for me. I think Beauty was her debut novel back in 1978 and is a YA retelling of Beauty and the Beast.

Library Loot is a weekly meme hosted by Marg and Eva.

8 Responses

  1. I posted about Gimme a Call – you’re going to like it, it’s so cute! I also read Sugar Queen… that is my favorite Sarah Addison Allen novel :)

  2. yay, thanks! all updated! and im a new Sarah Addison Allen fangirl.

  3. Hi there,

    I’m dropping by from the Library Loot and saw you’d borrowed one of Robin McKinley’s books. I have to say that her absolute best books are her Newbery winners: The Blue Sword and The Hero and the Crown . I wish she’d write another Damar book, but as she’s said for almost 30 years – the muse just dried up and left!

  4. Great loot. I love how arranged the books. I’m glad you show the covers! Enjoy your loot.

  5. I recently read and loved The Blue Sword by Robin Mckinley…then I picked up Sunshine and well it’s a huge disappointment , honestly boring

  6. I’ve been wanting to give Sarah Addison Allen a try for some time now but still haven’t read any of her books. I read Spindle’s End by McKinley and liked it but didn’t love it. I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts on this one as I do want to read more by this author.

  7. love those! take a look at the book cover i just posted on my website, vexation post. love this cover. and a great book so far to boot!

  8. Amanda: thanks for the recommendations, depending on how Beauty goes I will definitely kep trying McKinley’s backlist!

    Linda: i definitely had more fun with them this time ;)

    Emily: uh oh, Blue Sword rec x2, hmmm now i guess i have to add it to my TBR!

    Samantha: at least McKinley has a nice diverse backlist, hopefully there is something for everybody…ill see if i find one for me soon…

    niki: no matter how shallow it sounds, covers are important!

Leave a Reply

