Library loot: self service on holds

Hello blogosphere! Boy have I missed you on my month-long hiatus. I’m trying to get back in the groove of blogging, blog commenting, twittering…and worst of all….trying to get back into reading!

Yes you heard that right, I’m in the biggest slump of my reading life. And it seems all the more awful because it’s my first. I’ve never had this happen to me before.

Dear blog readers, everything is boring me. Just call me Gaston from Gigi because 90% of the books I’ve picked up recently, I put back down claiming, “It’s a bore!”

If I do return to blogging full time you can be sure I will explore my ennui in greater detail, but today is Wednesday, thus it is library loot day!

I got all my loot off the NEW self-service holds shelves, does your library let you pick yours out yourself? We used to have them kept SAFELY behind the desk and had to wait in line for a librarian to fetch them. Now it makes me a little nervous they they are out in the open, what if someone steals my Charlaine Harris I’ve been waiting 8 weeks for?!

I would never ever take someone else’s book from the on hold shelf, but I DEFINITELY peek at what the other folks around my last name are reading. A certain F. Powell is tearing through the later hard covers J.D. Robb’s In Death series right now, hope they’re enjoying them!

Hopefully this week’s library loot will help rip me out of my reading slump, as they are all books I’ve had on hold, some of which I’ve been anticipating and waiting for over a month! Here are my books after I pulled them from the on hold shelf:

  • A Bad Day For Sorry by Sophie Littlefield: I know I didn’t learn about this one from blogs (since I haven’t been on any recently), so maybe a newspaper or magazine book section? The premise is pretty unusual, Stella is a middle-aged widow, and survivor of domestic abuse. She starts trying to help other abused women in her small Missouri town, but ends up fighting far more serious crimes and mysteries.
  • The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell: I’ve never read anything by Ms. Bushnell before but was a super-fan-girl of SATC. I just started reading this YA book about Carrie’s senior year in high school and bad news…I’m bored by it. This is most likely due to my horrible frame of mind in my slump, but Carries voice just doesn’t seem right. I can’t match her up to the adult Carrie I knew and loved in the show.
  • A Wallflower Christmas by Lisa Kleypas: I usually don’t read novellas, but Ms. Kleypas’ Wallflowers series is probably my favorite romance series, and I’ve recently reread, or tried to reread, all of them to get me out of my slump. So I thought I’d give this one a try, set several years after all the Wallflowers’ marriages, Lillian and Daisy’s oldest brother travels to England seeking their father’s approval, but instead finds a lady of whom he very much approves. Too bad she dislikes him on sight! There is also the promise of plenty of scenes featuring the original Wallflowers themselves ,which I’m greatly looking forward to.
  • Girl in Translation, Jean Kwok: I featured this one on my New Release Alert back in MAY and have had it on hold ever since! Phew that was a long wait. I’m super excited to start this one about a mother and daughter emigrating from Hong Kong to Brooklyn, working in a Chinatown sweatshop together, surviving in a hovel, unable to fit in with their American peers, but the daughter is smart enough to try to go to an Ivy League school…if one of a million obstacles doesn’t get in her way first.

Library Loot is a weekly meme hosted by Marg and Claire

13 Responses

  1. I love the idea of a self-serve holds area. My library recently started a self check out station and I can never use it since I have to get my holds from the desk.

    I can’t imagine anyone taking your holds. The librarian would only have to look the book up and then punish the looter accordingly.

  2. You’re so funny spying on F. Powell’s reading material! ;)

    I would freak out a little about the holds shelf being accessible by anyone’s hands. Especially since I subscribe to this WowLibrary newsletter for my library and see what new books are coming in before they get there. I then put a hold on a book asap and am usually first or second on the list. There could be some other reader very desperate to get their hands on the same book I’m desperate for.. and what if they’re not as honest as me? gasp!

    I read A Bad Day for Sorry last month and am about to start reading the second book, A Bad Day for Pretty. I have been meaning to review the former for awhile. I liked it and was curious enough to want to read the sequel, but didn’t completely .. what’s the word… “approve”? of two things in the book. I’ll have to see what I think about the second.

    Enjoy your loot. I hope these books help pull you out of your slump!

  3. Jennifer: it’s an interesting trend, because of course more self service means less librarians need to help us. i expect its all tied to budget cuts.

    Christine: it’s not that im cynical, but it just makes me nervous that my holds *could* be taken, even by accident. thanks for your thoughts on A Bad Day for Sorry, it is DEFINITELY not my usual cup of tea, so i could see some things not matching up to my personal preferences. i will let you know what i think!

  4. When I get bored I know it is time to reach back and read a classic or some book that has stood the test of time that I have always meant to read. I just finished The Adventures of Huck Finn and I was enraptured. You might try A Tree Grows in Brooklyn or The Secret Life of Bees. Just something well-written and that you can really get lost in.
    I’ve just awarded you the Versatile Blogger Award. Take a look at the details here and enjoy! http://headfullofbooks.blogspot.com/2010/08/versatile-blogger-me.html

  5. Our library has self service. It’s been like that for about 4 years. I love it. I remember when they used to mail the books to you home. Talk about convenience!
    I have mixed feeling on The Carrie Diaries. I loved the show but I can’t tell if I would enjoy reading about a teenaged Carrie.
    Enjoy your loot.

  6. Sometimes slumps are inevitable, you’ll get back on the horse in no time!

    I’m dying to read the Carrie Diaries. I have it on hold at the library and I can’t wait to get it! :)

  7. My library also has self service holds, for years now and I’ve never had a hold gone missing. And I’m part of a VERY busy branch. I don’t think our system will let someone check something out that is on hold for someone else. I think the system catches it b/c the library card numbers wouldn’t match. I don’t think it can be done. But I’m not sure.

    Great finds. Enjoy your loot!

  8. Oh and sorry to hear about your slump. That sucks. What helps me is switching genre’s. If I’ve been reading too many YA’s or romances I can get stuck in a rut and need to try something different. That usually helps me.

    Sometimes I just need to take a break altogether and I end up watching a lot of movies or TV shows.

  9. Anne: old favorites usually work for me too, ive tried a few, but no dice. however A Tree Grows In Brooklyn sounds like a cold drink of water on a hot day to me right now for some reason. i havent read it in years, but adored it.

    Linda: they MAILED books to you? o.0 that sounds like the life.

    LR: i think you’re right, i just need to be patient. hope you enjoy The Carrie Diaries more than me!

    Mollie: ok you’ve made me feel much better, it would prob be very hard to check out a book thats on hold under someone else’s name!

  10. I hope your loot has something that will lift you out of the slump. Our holds are still kept safely behind the desk but no doubt the self service will come in time.

    Happy reading!

  11. I must admit that self-serve hold sections made me nervous at first too, but I’ve never had any problems. Library-users seem to be a trust-worthy bunch! I have gone to the shelves only to find people looking at my holds with curiousity, but this only sparks some excellent conversations!

    I’ve heard good things about Lisa Kleypas’ Wallflowers books but haven’t tried them for myself – yet!

    Enjoy your loot!

  12. My library has a self-serve hold area too. I don’t have to worry about someone taking my holds though (unless, I guess, they sneak them out somehow) because the check-out system (also self-serve) won’t let anyone except the person who put the hold on the book check it out.

    Happy reading! I hope you find something that interests you!

  13. We have self service holds as well, but ours is in number order so we can’t actually see the name of the person who is borrowing. I secretly love that idea of being able to have a look at what other people are reading.

    Lisa Kleypas is one of my favourite romance authors too!

    Enjoy your loot.

Leave a Reply

