Why I dreamed my boss poisoned me

Work is good, it has been great, it has been stressful, it has made me mad, but always good. Recruiting is my calling and I love my HR team. But last night I dreamed my boss poisoned me. I know exactly why I dreamed that:

I put in my notice 15 minutes ago. I just quit my job.

Ahhhhh adrenaline is still coursing through my body, I can’t believe I did that, I hope I made the right decision! I’ve never left a job I liked before so I was super stressed about putting in my notice, even though my boss is a lovely woman.

I’ve always always known my previous positions weren’t right for me, but this is really hard and just has to be a completely selfish move. I got an offer for what has been my dream job for the past 5 years. Still in recruiting, still in DC, but just…well, better overall. Bigger HR team, more sophisticated on campus recruiting programs, and one of the most respected finance firms in the world.

So yeah, things are pretty crazy around here.

We also just got back from our FOURTH wedding of the summer (in beautiful Newport, RI, never been before, but can’t wait to go back) and still have another THREE weddings to go in the next THREE WEEKS.

As much as I miss blogging and do NOT want to stop, I’m on too much of a wild ride in my real life to hang around the interwebs.

For now! I’ll be back someday!

13 Responses

  1. Congrats on the new job! Sounds exciting. Hope you’ll remember your blog when you come down out of the clouds :-)

  2. Congrats on the new job!

  3. ACK!!! EXCITING! Congrats on the new job & GOOD LUCK. lots of love.

  4. WoW!! Super congrats on the new job! How awesome that you totally landed your latest dream job!! All the best to you!

    I’ve heard of so many people going to weddings this past weekend alone. We went to one yesterday and had so much fun… and 17 years ago… it was my own. Awww. *bliss*

    Have fun at the other three weddings you have ahead of you. And gee… I hope that new job pays more, because weddings are $$ business for the guests, too! oh my.

    Cheers!

  5. Congrats on the new job – sometimes change can be scary but oh so worth it in the end! Have fun at all your weddings! :)

  6. Congrats!! Hope I’ll see you around in real life :)

  7. That’s exciting! I’m sure it will work out. :)

  8. How exciting!!! Congrats!!!!!!!

  9. that’s amazing!! congratulations! :) :) :)

  10. Congrats on the new job! That sounds very exciting. And three weddings in three weeks,… wow! That’s a lot of wedding cake. I’m sure you will have a blast. I love it when life takes you on an adventure! I can’t wait until you come back and fill us in!

  11. Congratulations to you!! Best of luck in your new job. I certainly miss getting to read more posts but you, but totally understand– real life has a definite way of interfering with our blog-o-sphere lives:) I’m still on a Mary Kay Andrews reading kick, and am on your favorite now, Savannah Blues. Loving it, of course…you’ve yet to steer me wrong:)

  12. Congratulations!

  13. thanks for all your good wishes!!!

Leave a Reply

