July and August reading slump

In a last-ditch-blogging-effort before I start my new job and any free time goes down the toilet, I just wanted to wrap up a few posts…

Just call me Gaston from Gigi, almost every book I picked up these last two months had me sighing, “It’s a bore!”

Side note: I loved that movie when I was little (like 7, 8 years old) and only just realized Gigi was being groomed to be his mistress! wtf?!

Anyways, I honestly don’t know how to grade half the books I read these past two months because I’m SURE I didn’t like some of them, simply because my reading slump was afecting my perceptions. How else could I explain not liking a Sookie Stackhouse book? Or skmming through and almost falling asleep while reading two Sherry Thomas books? I love these authors, what am I doing being bored by them?!?!

August 2010

Girl in Translation, Jean Kwok A- I highly recommend, although the main character was faced with a really tough decision, the ending worked really well for me

A Wallflower Christmas, Lisa Kleypas A-

Bound By Your Touch, Meredith Duran B-

Dangerous Desires, Dee Davis B-

The Fixer Upper, Mary Kay Andrews B-

Beyond the Highland Mist, Karen Marie Moning B- very surprised I didn’t love this one, after all I adore time travels and I’m obsessed with KMM’s Fever Series. But this one…wait for it…sorta bored me.

A Bad Day for Sorry, Sophie Littlefield B-

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, Aimee Bender C+ the writing style didn’t quite jive with me, and I felt like…well sorta like nothing ever happened. The premise of tasting the feelings of the person who cooked your food was awesome, but the story never really advanced for me. And although “magical realism” doesn’t usually have any real explanations, I was frustrated with the super-weird brother and nothing being even remotely explained! Maybe I’m slow and just don’t get it, but I have no clue what his deal was. He was living inside a chair? Like he shrunk? Or made his body disappear and his conscious was in space?

The Carrie Diaries, Candace Bushnell C-

True Love and Other Disasters, Rachel Gibson C-

July 2010

How to Knit a Wild Bikini, Christie Ridgway A-

I am the Messenger, Markus Zusak B+

Perfect Chemistry, Simone Elkels B+

Crazy in Love, Victoria Dahl B-

Beauty, Robin McKinley B- tried this one after Sunshine didn’t work for me, so I wanted to give Ms. McKinley another chance. Sadly, I am done with her for now, I just don’t think she’s for me.

The Girl Who Chased the Moon, Sarah Addison Allen C+???

Seriously don’t know how to rate any of the books below, I was so bored with all of them *sadface*

His At Night, Sherry Thomas

Dead in the Family, Charlaine Harris

Private Arrangements, Sherry Thomas

Suite Scarlett, Maureen Johnson

To Surrender to a Rogue, Cara Elliot DNF

4 Responses

  1. You did some good reading these past couple of months. I love the Gigi reference as well as the mistress revelation. Congrats again on the job!

    I know what you mean about feeling ho-hum about some books. I had to re-read an ARC when I was already 157 pages deep because I couldn’t figure out if the author didn’t write well or if it was my mind playing tricks on me. Thankfully, it was just me.

    Oh, before I go, I wanted to let you know that I am having my Mind-Blown giveaway tomorrow. All you need to enter is a comment. I would have e-mailed you but Yahoo! is stuck on stupid right now and not letting me send any e-mails.

    Have a great day girl!

  2. Maybe you should rate them D for deadly dull?

    I love Gigi! The fact that she’s being groomed to be Gaston’s mistress never really bothered me, to be honest.

  3. You need to move to another genre. Sometimes I get bored with perfectly wonderful books and have to set them aside for awhile. Maybe try a YA? The Hunger Games is amazing (Suzanne Collins, first of a triology) as is Graceling by Kristin Cashore. I would also recommend The Book Thief by Mark Zusak,

  4. firepages: at least we can realize when it’s *us* and not the bok, good to make that separation and give some of them 2nd chances. i know i will be giving some of the above 2nd tries for sure.

    heidenkind: so damn dull! i was just amazed i had NO clue as a child what Gigi was really about. which makes sense, i suppose, that what a mistress was wasn’t part of my knowledge base at 7 years old ;)

    NKB: i definitely need to shake things up, ive been trying either old favorites or totally different genres and i think it’s working! thanks for the rec’s!

Leave a Reply

