The time I lost my iPhone and heart on the same day

Regardless of what, who, or how you believe the universe operates sometimes the DARNDEST things happen and it’s hard not to think of them as coincidence, fate or luck.

I’ve had horrible days before – for some reason it’s never just one thing with me and for some reason WEIRD things happen to me where I seriously wonder if I’m on a hidden camera show. I’ll save some of the stories about disappearing christmas presents, stolen debit cards, and a lost umbrella during a huge rainstorm for another time – today we are talking about the time I lost my iPhone and my heart on the same day…

Imagine if you will….

*dream sequence music and ripples to scene*

Last week was the second week of my new (and fabulous!) job as a campus recruiter and I managed an info session for us at GWU’s campus. It was the third very late night for me in a row and while it was great every seat was filled with interested students it meant I had nowhere to sit for the 3 hours of presentations and networking. My poor feet stuffed into 3 inch heels did nothing to make me feel any less exhausted.

We finished around 10:30 and I huffed a sigh of relief as I freed my poor bound feet, wriggling my toes into flip-flops. The metro was right across the street from the campus building we hosted our event in, so rather than get a cab home I figured I could just sit on the well-lit metro for the 30 minutes it would take and read my book. I was deeply entrenched in Tsunami Blue’s adventures in her waterlogged world in the future with devilishly angelic and secretive Gabriel Black.

So engrossed was I that I didn’t notice until I got home that MY IPHONE WAS GONE!

I emptied my giant work purse until nothing but gum wrappers, pennies, and crumbs (don’t want to know what those are from) were left in the bottom. Not a trace of my precious iPhone. Disappeared, lost, missing.

*cue Lusty’s ultimate sad face*

*cue face of realization, turning from sad to angry!*

Someone must have stolen it! I knew I had it when I got on the metro, I used it to check when the next train was coming and to call hubby and I ALWAYS put it in the outside pocket of my purse because…you know…it’s so easy to reach there.

While it was my own carelessness that made me a target, people still shouldn’t steal. The thought of someone out there, putting their grimy fingers all over my beautiful touchscreen, looking at my email/apps/texts/all my stuff just enraged me. Perfectly incensed I threw myself down on the sofa, flung open my laptop, called the Metro Police right away, filled out an online stolen item form, called the DC police, called AT&T to have it turned off and called hubby to rant. I was a whirlwind of activity, knowing I wouldn’t get my phone back, but gaining some sense of power from the steps I could take. My voice shook with my anger at being violated like this in every conversation I had. Maybe it shook with tears a little with the hubby.

While it felt like my heart was hurting at such a personal loss, the big reveal on who actually stole my heart that night comes up next…

Me: I’m so pissed, honey! I know I shouldn’t have put it in such an easy place to grab, but still, people in this city are such animals.

Hubby: *ranting about how much money I’ve just wasted*

Me: I know, but trust me, I took all the appropriate steps, calling the police, the metro, and got the phone turned off right away, so don’t worry, no one’s calling China with it or anything and costing us more money.

Hubby: Did you try calling the phone before you turned it off to see if someone would answer?

Me: No! I didn’t even think of it because clearly the person who stole it is so nefarious they wouldn’t never answer and be helpful.

Hubby: Maybe you should try?

So I called AT&T, and after they nicely confirmed it wouldn’t cost me anything to keep turning on and off my service we got it all turned back on.

I called the phone, 3 times over 10 minutes. Amid fears of the evil thief playing with my precious baby I turned back to my laptop to look up the number for AT&T again and get it turned right back off.

As I clicked open Firefox my gmail inbox popped up with a new email that had just come in the past 30 seconds titled “Your iPhone”

My whole body broke out in goosebumps.

I could barely manipulate my fingers fast enough on the mouse and keyboard to get the email open. Here is the email, completely copied and pasted, word for word, I shit you not:

i surely hope this is your email connected to your i-phone…I found it on the metro and I’m desperately trying to return it to you but your phone turned off right away.  I can only imagine how upset you are. Please respond asap so I can give this back to you or the rightful owner. Thanks so much. – LaSheenya*

Yall, I can’t make this up. How the HELL did I get so lucky?!

And that is the story of the time I lost my heart to LaSheenya.

 There need to be more people like her in the world. She works at a restaurant and when I went to pick up my precious baby phone I really wanted to thank her somehow. I wanted to bring flowers and something else, but scrapped the flowers idea since she’d be at the restaurant for the rest of the day. I ended up just giving her a $50 visa gift card…and something else:

A hug.

While I lost my iPhone but got it back, LaSheenya you will always have a piece of my heart!

PS: yes i did get thoroughly browbeaten by hubby for clearly letting the phone fall out of my purse. or dropping it. or it fell out my pocket. or however i carelessly lost it.

*name slightly changed because hers is super unique

13 Responses

  1. There are some pretty amazing friends out there! So glad you got your phone back!!! <3

  2. Er…

    Friends = People

    Who could potentially become friends.

  3. OMG that was so nice of her to do that! There are still good people in the world. We just have to believe. :D

  4. Awesome story, LR, and a perfect reminder that the world is full of wonderful people.

  5. DC princess: well i did press the whole front of my body against hers. hugging people is definitely the first step in friendship! and she certainly has all my contact info ;)

    Bells: i know, especially with all the sad news of people treating each other so terribly in DC, she was a ray of sunshine!

    Phyl: it was too good not to share i thought, thanks for visiting my poor neglected blog

  6. Wow. What a story. Hallelujah for the nice, honest people of the world!

  7. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lusty Reader, Lusty Reader. Lusty Reader said: New Blog Post: the time I lost my iPhone and my heart in the same day http://tinyurl.com/25cqcfp […]

  8. Aw. Warm fuzzies!

  9. Good people are, well, the best people. I left my wallet on the bus once and ha already canceled all my credit cards when I got a call the next day from Jose at the Days Inn Van Ness. He spoke almost no English, so he had a friend call; he’d found my wallet & wanted to give it back – $80 in cash & all.

    So glad you got your phone back. We owe karma, huh?

  10. Two things:

    1. I just read about this cool program that you can install on your laptop and phones to help track them down if you lose them/have them stolen. It’s called prey and I just put it on my Netbook: http://bit.ly/cs0mXeu

    2. Also I found this story about finding an lost iPhone amusing: http://bit.ly/17i74J

  11. OMG! The title of your post immediately made my heart sink. And after reading your story, I came to two conclusions: (1) There are still honest and good people in this world and I’m so glad that you got your phone back, and (2) You seriously need your own reality show! I would totally watch it. It sounds like life in general is a daily adventure for you. Have a great day and put your phone inside your purse! :)

  12. Omg…I LOVE this story. Not all the crap you had to go through…but what a wonderful ending. LOVE!!

  13. […] situation, only minus the waves. And on a DC sidewalk in 23 degree weather. As you may recall I don’t always have the best of […]

Leave a Reply

