Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

 OK all this lovely lovely information was supposed to copy paste from Goodreads, but was just messy HTML, sigh. So here is the detail:

  • Title: Will Grayson, Will Grayson
  • Authors: John Green and David Levithan
  • Pages: 310, hardcover
  • Published: April 2010
  • My Goodreads rating:  4 out of 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads): One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens—both named Will Grayson—are about to cross paths. As their worlds collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most fabulous high school musical.
Really this book should be called Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and Tiny Cooper, but the title was long enough already. Although the two Will’s coming together is part of he catalyst for great change in their lives, it is really their friend in common (or boyfriend as one of the Will’s struggles with coming out) that wreaks the most havoc, in an ultimately positive way, in both their lives.

Although it can be argued that the stunning clarity and realness of the both the Wills’ characters is offset by the seemingly unreal Tiny I absolutely enjoyed this YA novel set in Chicago by two fabulous authors. Reading YA as a adult can be hard to remember how much drama occurred in the lunch room, at your locker, over the phone, and now of course, over social networking sites, but I felt every scene and type of interaction was handled so deftly, and sometimes to depressingly realistically that it was almost like I was back in high school myself.

I knew nothing of the book before I picked it up, it was the only John Green book my library had in stock and I was determined to read something by him, so I had no idea how emo this book was, and would make me, but I definitely recommend it!

5 Responses

  1. I know what you mean about reading YA novels. I was browsing through the YA section at the local used bookstore yesterday and realized that I haven’t read anything in the genre in years. I will definitely check out this title since you highly recommend it. I need a refresher on what the younger generation is doing nowadays! Have a gread day!

  2. firepages: i try to read YA that i KNOW will be realtable, regardless of your age. sometimes its hard to predict, but they are definitely out there!

  3. […] Will Grayson, Will Grayson, by John Green and David Levithan: just finished it, review here […]

  4. I love John Green but haven’t read this one yet. Don’t stop with WG, WG. :) Probably his best is Looking for Alaska, but it is also pretty emo. An Abundance of Katherines is fantastic and the least emo of his work, IMHO; Paper Towns is his most recent.

    I’m a big fan of YA lit, maybe because it’s part of my livelihood. Some of it is TOO young, though. :) I’ve had several adult friends bugging me to read the Fablehaven series, and I’m struggling to finish the first book. I’m like, is anyone ever going to die or have sex in this thing? ;)

  5. R&C: you’re the 3rd person to tell me Looking for Alaska is his best!

    and we def share some of the same thoughts – more lusty scenes please!

Leave a Reply

