A nose for books in West Virginia

What kind of person goes on vacation in town of  less than 3,000 people in the sticks of West Virginia and still manges to find a book sale?

A lusty reader with a nose for books, that’s who! I just can’t escape them, y’all! This more than made up for my super depressing experience of being turned away from the last one I stumbled across – member that time all I even needed was 4 quarters, or 10 dimes and I cried in the library? Well even though I still get a serious twinge of regret for the fabulous books I wasn’t able to buy at that one…I made out like a frickin bandit at this one on vacation in West Virginia.

So this is how long I’ve had this blog post sitting in my draft folder…this book sale is one I found while on vacation celebrating our wedding anniversary this fall. When is our anniversary? Oh, just September 27th, so this only happened 3 months ago!!! Ugh, blogging, you have just been too much for me to keep up with. So yes, hubby and I drove about 2 hours away from DC this past Fall to visit Harper’s Ferry, Charles Town, and Shepherdstown, WV.

(For those of you following me on twitter, yes hubby and I are currently on vacation in Charleston, SC, not be confused with the trip in this blog post to Charles Town, WV) 

We stayed at the most adorable inn and woke up on our first morning refreshed and ready to explore the area! We hopped in our car and drove through Charles Town on our way to historica Harper’s Ferry. We hadn’t even gotten one block into the little town before I yelped, “Halt!” And pointed with a finger shaking with excitement to the sign and sidewalk chalk stating “Library Book Sale.” Hubby looked into my eyes gone wide with pleading, sighed and smiled, and pulled over on the tiny street with no traffic.

Guarenteed to get a HUGE smile out of me:

Whenever I go clothes shopping with the hubby I always promise to be fast, trying to pick clothes I don’t have to try on, or those I can just try on over whatever I’m wearing, zooming around the store, being as quick as I can to grab anything that interests me.

No browsing, that’s my rule to keep him happy, and I know he appreciates it. The same goes for book stores, he won’t go into one with me unless I already know what books I want because he knows all too well that book browsing could lead to hours of boredom on his end. We’ve literally stood on the sidewalk outside a Barnes&Noble with him making me cross my heart and swear I have a list and I will stick to it – no browsing allowed – before he would agree to go in with me. So I tried to be lightening-fast at this West Virginia book sale, one of the reasons why my pictures of these totally awesome old-skool romance covers are a little blurry.

These weren’t that familiar to me though, Dance of Desire, Her Heart’s Delight, Savage Obsession, author’s Stephanie Blake or Mary Daheim? I started reading romance in the early 1990’s and while I enjoy plenty of the newest releases, I am truly an old-skool romance fangirl at heart, so I was surprised I didn’t recognize the titles and authors in this box, but my heart recognized them as kindred spirits. I read a few of the back covers to see if they would spark my interest, but quickly moved on to trying to locate titles I was familiar with.

There were just sooooo many romance novels at this sale!!!!

Jennifer Garner was in a made for tv version of For The Roses?! Dost mine eyes decieve me, or is that her on the cover??? I read that book in the ’90s and don’t really remember liking it, I think it took way to long to get to the lusty bits and was a bit too saga-ish for me.

So what did I walk out with?

Even limiting myself to trying to just pick up those books whose titels and authors I recognized I walked out with some REAL TREASURE! I was so giddy y’all, every time I plucked one of these books out of the lineup.

  • The Prince of Midnight, by Laura Kinsale (my first Kinsale I’ve ever owned, I’ve never read this before either)
  • Prince Charming, by Julie Garwood (was on my list of favorite romance of all time…whyyyyy did I donate my copy from High School when I went off to college again?)
  • Knight in Shining Armor, by Jude Deveraux (classic. one of my fave time travels. ’nuff said)
  • The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkein (the cover sucks, but its a must have for my bookshelves. I read my dad’s copy when I was younger but have never owned a version for myself)
  • Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret, by Judy Blume (this is the EXACT version I owned in elementary school, but now can’t find, problem solved!)

I struck some serious reading gold, huh?!

And that is the story. Of the time. I found a library book sale on vacation. In a teensy tiny West Virginia town.

9 Responses

  1. I have to deal with The Hub AND tween Boy now. They both hate it when I get lost in a store, be it a book store or any other store for that matter. I never make promises but they know that certaint things grab my attention and lately The Girl has been following in mommy’s footsteps which irritates them to no end :)

  2. Ti: ha, how fun that you can share that with The Girl! always good to have a comrade-in-arms in shopping ;)

  3. OMG, I think it IS Jennifer Garner on that cover. I was so sure, I checked IMDB, and she played a Mary Rose Clayborne in a made for tv movie called Rose Hill. And Mary Rose Clayborne is the main character in FOR THE ROSES, the book by Julie Garwood.

    P.S. Yes – you struck gold!

  4. hmm… maybe i should try this prince charming book?? i’ve never been big into romance, but maybe if i try one of the BEST OF ALL TIME i will be converted! :)

  5. janicu: ooo thanks for checking for me! and really, this book sale was seriously like finding buried treasure.

    Alice: oh no no no, and old Julie Garwood would be a terrible starting place, please no. its just a personal fave. i have plenty of better recommendations if you’re serious about trying romance novels though!

  6. I love finding little sales like that especially when on vacation. Those are the kinds of treasures I like to bring back!

  7. I live in Shepherdstown! The Inn you went to is so cute :) Down the road from me….

    And the sad part is I didn’t even know about the book sale! Glad you enjoyed this little corner of the world!

  8. I loved this post – the old-school covers especially.

    I think I have the Garwood and Deveraux versions you got, I recognise those covers!

    I’ve never seen the Jennifer Garner / Julie Garwood cover before – fascinating…

    Okay, cover geek-out over.

    Li

  9. Knight in Shining Armor is my all time fave time travel too. It’s just that darn great. Must go re-read now:) Congrats on your fab finds!

Leave a Reply

