Library Loot: Paranormal, I wish I knew how to quit you

Dear Paranormal Romances, Urban Fantasy, YA Paranormal, and cliff hanger series of any kind – I wish I knew how to quit you. Seriously 99% of the books I see recommended on twitter and blogs are of the Paranormal/UF variety. Any time I add a book to my wish list, holds list at the library, TBR…anywhere…seems to be part of a PNR/UF series.

And I can’t stop myself from reading them. (Unless they’re only about vampires…those I just can’t do right now). So here is my loot this week:

 1. <a href=”Eon""“>Eon, by Allison Goodman – first off, it’s bothering me enough to mention, but is pretty silly to whine about…i am VERY confused by all the different titles and covers for this book! i know the author is an Aussie, but still the four covers and four different titles for one book annoy me personally /rant. i saw the Book Smugglers post on the second book in this duology recently and knew i must must must read them. YA magical adventure starring girl-disguised as boy? yes please!

 2. <a href=”Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Book 1)""“>Cry Wolf and Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs – i just started reading Patricia Briggs…behind the times i know, but again, im picking up all the PNR/UF series that come so highly recommended, so of course these are on it! My last library loot got me into her Mercy Thompson series, so while i wait on hold for the most recent installment there i thought i’d get started on the Alpha and Omega series.

 3. <a href=”Must Love Hellhounds""“>Must Love Hellhounds anthology by Charlaine Harris, Ilona Andrews, and Meljean Brook – reading three short stories by some of the best PNR/UF authors out there that are really just teases to their larger world-building in their series is NOT a good way to quit the genre! after reading this this weekend im SO much more tempted to pick up more of their stuff! To be honest the Britlingens Go To Hell by Charlaine Harries was super weird and not my cup of tea at all, but it did make me miss Sookie and Eric a bit, even though i got really annoyed at that series. AND i’ve been really good with Ilona Andrews and only gotten addicted to her The Edge series, but the story in here about Andrea from the Kate Daniels series is a SERIOUS temptation to get into that one too. sigh. It’s a rough life guys.

And when I thought of the quote in the title for this post I OF COURSE had to go watch several clips from the movie, specifically the short titular one here. I watched the longer version and got weepy, man oh man their love story just SLAYS me, and my google image search of the quote prompted so many other photos that mad me sad. But then I found this one and HAD to share, obvi. You’re welcome.

shirtless jake gyllenhaal addiction > my current addiction to PNR/UF series

 Library loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader and Claire from The Captive Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

11 Responses

  1. YES, ME TOO. Have you read the “Mortal Instruments” series? I’m obsessed…

  2. JEEZ KATE im TRYING to quit!!!!! and ha, no i haven’t read Mortal Instruments, but have heard awesome things about hottie Jace

  3. I’ve never read any of those types of books. I will have to try them! I definitely need to branch out and try some new genres. I’ve been stuck in biographies and chick lit for far too long!

  4. Amanda, just be warned it is a VERY slipperly slope once you get into the genre!!!! any good chick lit recommendations recently? to maybe help pull me out of the slippery PNR slope i feel down ;)

  5. I hear ya. I have a gazillion books on my list and I keep thinking I’m going to branch out a bit but I end up picking something paranormal after hearing recommendations, reading reviews, or seeing them at the library. No. Will. Power.

  6. Don’t even get me started on my shirtless Christopher Gorham addiction…

  7. Marie: i think i was born lacking the willpower gene, when it relates to books, eating junk food…basically saying no to anything im craving!

    heidenkind: oh reeeally? *off to google image Christopher Gorham*

  8. You have posted!!!

    And I hear that that series (EON one) is pretty good so I must try it one day. Second book is EONA, so that doesn’t help with the confusing titles, right?

    I actually liked that Prince of Persia movie and totally didn’t expect to. I think it was the sort of verbal sparring romance Jake G.’s character had with the heroine, and she was not spineless. It got meh reviews though. *shrug*.

  9. I have to admit that I know nothing about paranormal or urban fantasy books (I am ignorant to the extent that I’ve never heard the term urban fantasy before). But I do know all about getting addicted to one genre of books and having trouble ever letting go!

    The gratuitous shirtless Jake picture was a very thoughtful touch, the kind of thing that can only make one’s day better!

    Enjoy your loot!

  10. janicu: exactly, Eon/Eona, the titles def confuse my tiny brain. BUT you should still read them, just finished Eon and it was AWESOME!

    Claire: ha, that is too funny, so many people that i follow talk of nothing BUT PNR/UF! and im glad you found my shirtless Jake a “thoughtful touch”…i will have to be “thoughtful” more often ;)>/strong>

  11. Ohh I heard so many good things about Eon. And I’m afraid to tell you but you need to read teh Kate Daniels series. Sorry but you do.
    *hides from thrown tomatoes*

Leave a Reply

