I should really just give my credit card to The Book Smugglers

The book loving blogosphere is celebrating Book Blogger Apperciation Week (BBAW) through awards, blog topics, memes and interviews.

BBAW_Celebrate_BooksToday’s blog discussion asks us to name a book you read only because another blogger recommended it. Oddly enough I already had most of this post typed up in an email to two of my favorite bloggers anways. Sort of a private “Ode To Them” but figured, why not share it with y’all too!?

So my choice was easy – Ana and Thea of the Book Smugglers, bien sûr, but of course!

Because they’ve prompted me to read not just ONE book, but So Very Many. It’s going to take me a bit of time to tally them up.

BRB.

Ok I’m back, what follows is my open letter to those sneaky book smuggling ladies:

Dear Ana and Thea;

In the past 6 months I read the following books thanks to you:

  1. Gone, Michael Grant
  2. Hunger, Michael Grant
  3. Secret Society Girl, Diana Peterfreund
  4. Under the Rose, Diana Peterfreund
  5. Rights of Spring Break, Diana Peterfreund
  6. Tap and Gown, Diana Peterfreund
  7. Revealed, Kate Noble
  8. Scandal, Carolyn Jewel
  9. The Laurentine Spy, Emily Gee

And that doesn’t even count the many I’ve added to my wish list based on your recommendations.

Ana, you jokingly asked if I trusted you in a comment on one of my other posts where I was worried if I would like the rest of the books in a series as much as I liked the first one. Trust you? I could really just give you both my credit card!

Also, I think one or both of you has some weird mind-connection or time traveling power. Whenever you mention old favorite YA books they are ALWAYS on my list of favorites too!

It’s getting a little creepy to be honest guys, Thea I think I’m looking specifically at you. Every time you mention, “Oh I just LOVED this book when I was younger” it is just too eerie that it holds a prominent place in my memory too. So far you have mind-read all these:

  1. The Song of the Lioness Quartet, 4 book series about Alanna of Trebond, Olau, and Pirate’s Swoop by Tamora Pierce
  2. Tomorrow, When the War Began, by John Marsden
  3. The Last Silk Dress and so many other Ann Rinaldi Books
  4. The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle, by Avi
  5. Mara, Daughter of the Nile, Eloise Jarvis McGraw

Now the ONLY ONE you haven’t mentioned is Back Home by Michelle Magorian. I can’t decide if it would be increasingly weird or very cool if either of you also adores this one. But at the very least I mentioned it first!

back_home

 So merci buckets to both of you, my TBR and reading list has been forever improved. I have not yet reached the level where my books must be smuggled, but we can all hope that someday I might!

Yours faithfully,

Lusty Reader

*Edited to Add*: Your persuasive powers are far reaching, Katidom also wrote a great post listing books she’s read on your recommendations!

13 Responses

  1. Oh, that is just about one of the nicest things ever.

    I really don’t know how to respond. Do I say thank you when thank you doesn’t seem enough? do I virtually hug you? do I take your credit card and run?

    *hugs* *grin*

  2. God, isn’t it the truth?! I listed not that long ago the books I’ve bought and read because of Ana specifically. I think the list had 10 or more books on it. She just has a way of capturing your interest and making you not just think “huh”, but of making you think “Damn, I need this book like RIGHT NOW!”

    I’m getting ready to read my first Thea recommended book next week it’s A Clockwork Heart. Even more terrifying, I’m going to write a review of it for them. *GULP*.

    Great list, Lusty!

  3. Ana and Thea are the best pimping book smugglers blog I read.

    The are the reason I try an write the reviews I do. I strive to be like them.

  4. aww, that was so sweet! :) i wish i could find somebody on the same bookwave as me… i seem to be floundering. BUT i did just pick up wicked so, fingers crossed because there’s like three of them.

  5. This is probably the coolest, most flattering posts EVER *grin*

    Thank you for the love, and I am so glad that our book recommendations have been successes for you!!! (Dude, I heard that LIES, book 3 of the Gone series, is super *super* dark. I want it now!)

    And highfive on the awesome nostalgia reads!!! THE LAST SILK DRESS – oh man. I read that book so much that the cover fell off. Have you read any of Ann Rinaldi’s new stuff? She has a new Civil War era book out (well, new-ish) – I’ll have to buy it and let you know how it goes ;)

    I haven’t read or heard of BACK HOME! But it is going in my amazon cart NOW. *grin* Thanks!!!

  6. Kati – CLOCKWORK HEART was one of my top 10 reads of 2008 :) It’s got romance, strong characters, romance (did I say that already? I love the pair in this book), action, mystery, all set in an imaginative steampunk world. I really hope you like it!!!!

  7. Ana and Thea – you guys are the ones who got me reading Linnea Sinclair! What would I have done without that Guest Dare?

  8. Ana: first off, you are welcome, secondly *hugs* back to you, and thirdly if i ever don’t know what book to read next i will send you my credit card!

    Kati: the books they’ve recommended are so good i can’t be mad at them for adding to my bills and to my TBR!

    KB: they are definitely great examples of How To Be A Book Pimp!

    Guatami: I hope you like them too!

    Beckyyyy: I’m sure they are out there, somewhere out there, beneath the pale moonlight…sorry sometimes singing cartoons just pop in my head

    I saw Wicked at the theatre and loved it, but haven’t read the books…

    Thea: it is my pleasure! You have totally reminded me of some nostalgia reads that I forgot about, like Ann Rinaldi, I read a lot of her Quilt Books I think? And so many others, but none of her newest ones.

    Oh sigh, chalk that up to another smuggler’s recommendation!

    AnimeJune: i love their guest dare features! stay tuned for next week ;)

  9. “I could really just give you both my credit card!”

    I know the feeling. My TBR pile has many Ana and Thea recommendations on it. Yesterday, I bought Rosemary and Rue because of their review. The opposite is true too, though, and equally helpful. Based on their reviews, I’ve decided I wouldn’t like certain books.

    They’re just really good at conveying what they like and don’t like about a book. I think their chatty [and lengthy :D ] style helps with that. They give their readers the information they need to make informed decisions.

  10. Aww, I love the bloggy love! :-)

  11. Aw- very sweet! My mom and I are on the same book wavelength – it works out pretty well. :)

  12. Oooh! I bought the Laurentine Spy when I went to Powell’s this summer, but I didn’t know the Book Smugglers reviewed it. I guessing they liked it?

Leave a Reply

